Santa Clara University

Leavey School of Business News Blog


Business Today

The following postings have been filtered by tag Faculty. clear filter
  •  Shefrin Selected Among Decade's Best Business Writers

    Monday, Jul. 20, 2009 4:18 PM

    Hersh Shefrin is one of the most influential business writers in the last decade, according to J.P. Morgan, which has included the Santa Clara University finance professor in its exclusive "Celebrating a Decade of the J.P. Summer Reading List."

    Since 2000, J.P. Morgan has assembled a summer reading list of 10 current business titles recommended for its clients and the general public. In 2003, Hersh Shefrin's book, Beyond Greed and Fear, was selected to be on that year's list.

    To commemorate the tenth anniversary of its list, J.P. Morgan selected 10 from the lists published over the past decade (representing about 5,500 entries overall). Those 10 authors were asked to write a brief essay on their respective book, and the essays were compiled into a commemorative publication distributed to J.P. Morgan's clients. Among the other writers selected were Tom Friedman, Malcolm Gladwell, and PIMCO CEO Mohammed El-Erian.

    In addition to Beyond Greed and Fear, Shefrin is the author of Behavioral Corporate Finance (2006), A Behavioral Approach to Asset Pricing (2nd edition, 2008), and Ending the Management Illusion: How to Drive Busienss Results Using the Principles of Behavioral Finance (2008).

  •  Extraordinary Faculty Saluted by Dean

    Wednesday, Dec. 3, 2008 4:00 PM

    SANTA CLARA, CA – December 3, 2008 – Eighteen Leavey School of Business faculty were honored for “extraordinary” performance in teaching, scholarship, and service today at the Faculty Town Hall. Dean Barry Z. Posner made the awards during the quarterly faculty meeting held in Lucas Hall.

    Receiving exemplary ratings by the department chairs across the three dimensions of faculty performance—teaching, scholarship, and service—were 10 tenure track faculty members:

    • Narendra Agrawal, Associate Professor of Operations and Management Information Systems (OMIS) and chair of the OMIS Department
    • Greg Baker, Professor of Management and Director of the Food & Agribusiness Institute
    • David Caldwell, the Stephen and Patricia Schott Professor of Management
    • Sanjiv Das, Professor of Finance and chair of the Finance Department
    • Andre Delbecq, Professor of Management
    • Tammy Madsen, Associate Professor of Management and chair of the Management Department
    • Kris Mitchener, Associate Professor of Economics
    • Barry Posner, Professor of Management and Dean of the Leavey School of Business
    • Stephen Smith, Professor of Operations and Management Information Systems (OMIS)
    • Meir Statman, the Glenn Klimek Professor of Finance

    Eight academic year lecturers (non-tenured) were also recognized for their performance as teachers and participants in the life of the University:
    • David Armstrong, Lecturer in Operations and Management Information Systems (OMIS)
    • Buford Barr, Lecturer in Marketing and ACE Program faculty director
    • Wendy Donohoe, Lecturer in Accounting and staff in the Drahman Advising Center
    • James Kelley, Lecturer in Management
    • Darrel Mank, Lecturer in Management
    • John Toppel, Lecturer in Management and International Business Minor director
    • Jan Strockis, Lecturer in Finance
    • Steven Wade, Lecturer in Finance and Accounting

    The awards were established by Dean Barry Posner in 1996 when he became dean of the Leavey School of Business. The selection is made by the six academic department chairs based on student teaching evaluations, scholarly productivity, and service to the Business School, the University, and respective disciplines.

Printer-friendly format