Santa Clara University

Leavey School of Business News Blog


Business Today

The following postings have been filtered by tag Faculty. clear filter
  •  Economics Professor Honored by National Insurance Association

    Tuesday, Oct. 2, 2007 2:33 PM
    Santa Clara, CA (October 2, 2007) - Economics Associate Professor Thomas Russell was recently presented with an award from the American Risk and Insurance Association in recognition of the lasting impact of his research on the industry.
                Professor Russell was notified this week that he had received the Robert I. Mehr Award for his article “Catastrophe Insurance, Capital Markets and Uninsurable Risks,” co-authored with Dwight Jaffee [Haas School, U C Berkeley], which appeared in 1997.
                The Mehr Award has been presented annually since 1995, and acknowledges the Journal of Risk and Insurance article that has “best stood the test of time.” The award is given to researchers whose work of ten years prior have been influential on the industry and subsequent researchers.
                In addition to his contributions to theJournal of Risk and Insurance, Professor Russell has published more than 30 articles in the Journal of Economic Theory, American Economic Review, the Journal of International Money and Finance, and the Journal of Mathematical Economics.
                Dr. Russell received his Ph.D. from the University of Cambridge (U.K.), his master’s from the University of California, Berkeley, and his LL.B. at the University of Glasglow (First Class Honors, Law and Economics).
  •  Breetwor Fellows Announced

    Wednesday, Sep. 12, 2007 12:00 PM
    SANTA CLARA, CA - Barry Z. Posner, dean of the Leavey School of Business at Santa Clara University, has announced seven new faculty recipients of the Breetwor Family Fellowships for 2007-2009, as recommended by the Business School’s department chairs.
    The fellowships, which carry a $10,000 grant over two years, support faculty research and scholarly development, and are funded by an endowment established by Cheryl Breetwor, MBA ’76.
    Receiving awards in the Accounting Department are Associate Professor Michael Eames, and Assistant Professor Yongtae Kim. Economics Associate Professor Michael Kevane, and Associate Professor Kris Mitchener and Assistant Professor  Dongsoo Shin also received fellowships. In the Finance Department, Associate Professor George Chacko received a grant, as did OMIS Professor Stephen Smith.
    The fellowships were proposed by Ms. Breetwor, founder of the equity compensation firm ShareData acquired by e*Trade in 1999, to recognize faculty members who are distinguished teacher-scholars and are making notable service contributions to the Business School, the University, and their disciplines.
    Since the inception of the Breetwor Family Fellowships in 2000, more than 30 tenured and tenure-track faculty have been named Breetwor Fellows.
Printer-friendly format