Santa Clara University

Leavey School of Business News Blog


Business Today

The following postings have been filtered by tag student. clear filter
  •  Accounting Scholarships Awarded at Annual Banquet

    Wednesday, Jun. 3, 2015 9:30 AM

    The Department of Accounting recently held their 15th Annual Accounting Awards Banquet to celebrate and honor the work of current students. Faculty, staff, students and their families gathered at the Locatelli Center on SCU’s campus, where over 20 scholarships were presented to rising junior and senior accounting students, multiple graduating seniors received awards, and an alumni of the year was recognized. Between all of the scholarships, over $73,000 were awarded.

    Congratulations to all who were recognized at this annual event. Your hard work and dedication are appreciated and rewarded.

    Those honored this year are listed below:

    Accounting Department Junior Scholarship Awards*: Leonie Phoa, Charlene Shiao, Monica Van, Walter Yu
    Accounting Department Senior Scholarship Awards*: Brendan Haggerty, Nicole Jokom, Elaina Obradovich, Jaron Sakamoto
    Alumni of the Year Award: Betsy Rafael, Class of 1983
    Armanino Scholarship: Claire Arbios
    BDO Scholarship: Connor Liston
    Burr Pilger & Mayer Scholarship: Emily Koon
    CalCPA Scholarship: Nicole Orban
    Charles F. Louie Scholarship: Jaclyn Kavanaugh, Brooke Vasconcellos
    Deloitte Leadership Scholarship: Andrew Wright
    EY Accounting & Information Systems Scholarship: Monica Lam
    EY Diversity Scholarship: Sophia Avila
    Frank, Rimerman + Co. LLP Scholarship: Andrew Becker
    Grant Thornton Scholarship: Brendan Cooke
    James F. Sepe Endowed Accounting Scholarship: Nick Cascaccia
    KPMG Community Service Scholarship: Carrie Reisenauer
    Lautze & Lautze Scholarship: Marissa Cagle, Clarissa Hayes
    McGladrey Scholarship: Courtney Yang
    Moss Adams LLP Scholarship: Justin Bautista, Taylor Beatty
    O. Robert Anderson Award: Tuyet-Anh Ta
    Outstanding Accounting & Information Systems Award: Jessica Huang
    Paul Locatelli, S.J. Accounting Scholarship: Tiffany Iskandar
    PCAOB Scholarship: Jaclyn Kavanaugh
    PwC Leadership Scholarship: Emily Uffenheimer
    Seiler LLP Scholarship: Nicole Schulz
    Sensiba San Filippo LLP Scholarship: Dalton Moore
    Thomas Maier Memorial Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement: Nick Cascaccia
    Accounting Association Outgoing Senior Officers: Eric Angle, Ryan Chew, Kevin Krautscheid, and Lydia Ku
    Accounting Association Incoming Senior Officers: Kristi Ikeda, Tiffany Iskandar, Diana Ng, Amanda Tam

    *Sponsored by the Big Four – PricewaterhouseCoopers, Deloitte, EY, KPMG



  •  Check In: Thoughts on their first quarter at SCU

    Friday, Dec. 19, 2014 2:37 PM

    With fall quarter complete, we wanted to check in with the three first-year business school students who received Santa Clara University’s Johnson Scholarship – Amy Lutfi, Dylan DeTray and Taylor Tagawa. 

     Amy Lutfi
    “I was pleasantly surprised how quickly I found a home within the SCU community during my first quarter! Fellow students, professors, and staff were so welcoming to me from the first day of classes.  My business professors have been especially helpful and are wholeheartedly invested in my success.  I have really benefited from their unique expertise and availability.  All of these factors have increased my passion about my studies, the Leavey School of Business, and the SCU community as a whole. I am excited about what the future holds and look forward to nurturing the relationships that I have developed with my peers and professors.”

     Dylan DeTray
    "As my first quarter here at SCU has come to a close, I can confidently describe my experience as engaging, challenging, and welcoming. College proved to be much more difficult than I imagined, but due to fantastic teachers and interesting subjects, I was so much more excited to learn. Aside from the academics, the student body at Santa Clara has been nothing but welcoming, especially in communities I have been lucky enough to find a home in, such as other Johnson Scholars as well as with Alpha Kappa Psi."

     Taylor Tagawa 
    “I love how accessible and knowledgeable the professors are here at the Leavey School of Business. It's great to learn from professors who have real-world experience and such extensive knowledge of today's business world.”

    The Johnson Scholarship awards full, renewable academic scholarships to up to 10 of SCU’s most academically accomplished, leadership-minded applicants. 

Printer-friendly format