Santa Clara University

Leavey School of Business News Blog


Business Today

The following postings have been filtered by tag Award. clear filter
  •  Delbecq Awarded Leavey Impact Prize

    Friday, May. 8, 2015 12:00 AM

    Andre Delbecq, the Thomas and Kathleen McCarthy Professor of Management, was presented with the Leavey Impact Award for Service this week at the annual business school faculty awards celebration. 

    The Leavey Impact Award for Service recognizes service contributions during the most recent five academic years that have had a significant impact on our school, students, profession or community, and all business school faculty are eligible for nomination and selection by the committee comprising the dean and his associate deans.

    Although he was unable to be present for the ceremonies, Professor Delbecq sent a few remarks which were read by Dean Drew Starbird:

    "Each year I look forward to the annual celebration of my colleagues. I deeply regret that this year, my final year before entering phased retirement, I have a conflicting obligation to conduct a seminar in Vancouver, Washington, with David Feldman (counseling psychology).

    "I expend my congratulations to each of you who are honored this year. I wish I could bi-located and be present to applaud your accomplishments.

    "Of course my regret is amplified because I am also unavailable to express gratitude for receiving a Leavey Impact Award for Service.

    Much of our scholarship reflects individual effort. But service is different. It almost always involved group endeavors. Over the 36 years I have been at Santa Clara I have cherished your companionship as supportive and convivial colleagues while together we engaged the varied rhythms of shared institutional service.

    "So as I draw the curtain on my full-time appointment, in accepting this award I want to express gratitude to all of you who have accompanied me in service to our University."




  •  Annual Awards for Faculty & Staff

    Tuesday, May. 27, 2014 10:13 AM

    Congratulations to business school faculty and staff who were recently recognized for their contributions to our business school community. 

    Faculty Awards
    Our business school faculty were recognized for their scholarship, teaching and service at the May 12 reception. The Leavey Impact Awards celebrate contributions made by faculty that best illustrate the community’s highest ideals and aspirations, and reflect a shared commitment to the School’s strategic priorities: 

    • creating a transformational learning experience
    • highlighting the quality, prominence, and influence of our scholarship
    • building strong partnerships with the community and our alumni

    Alexander Field, economics department chair and Michel and Mary Orradre professor of economics, received the 2014 Leavey Impact Award for Research. Dr. Field is noted for his outstanding book A Great Leap Forward: 1930s Depression and U.S. Economic Growth (Yale University Press, 2011). His research has reframed how scholars, researchers, historians, and the general public view the impact of the depression on innovative growth and change. 

    Andy Tsay, chair and professor of the OMIS department, received the 2014 Leavey Impact Award for Service. Dr. Tsay’s work with the Cisco-OMIS Fellows program has brought students together with Silicon Valley companies. It is a great example of innovative initiatives that create successful partnerships between the Leavey School of Business and Silicon Valley. 

    In addition to the Leavey Impact Awards, faculty were recognized for achievement in several categories: 

    Noted for their scholarly achievements in the past year were: Gangshu Cai (OMIS), Sanjiv Das (FNCE), Sanjay Jain (MGMT), Hoje Jo (FNCE), Yongtae Kim (ACTG), Siqi Li (ACTG), Carrie Pan (FNCE), Barry Posner (MGMT), Dongsoo Shin (ECON), Meir Statman (FNCE), and Andy Tsay (OMIS).

    Several faculty were commended for their teaching as measured by student evaluations over the course of the year. Receiving the award for outstanding teaching were: Narendra Agrawal (OMIS), Gregory Baker (MGMT), Gangshu Cai (OMIS), David Caldwell (MGMT), Michael Calegari (ACTG), Wendy Donohoe (ACTG), Paul Intrevado (OMIS), Kirthi Kalyanam (MKTG), Peter Knight (MGMT), Mike Levenhagen (MGMT), Haidan Li (ACTG), Haibing Lu (OMIS), Nydia MacGregor (MGMT), Tammy Madsen (MGMT), Bill Mains (BUSN), Chris Paisley (ACTG), Jackie Posner (BUSN), Kumar Sarangee (MKTG), John Toppel (MGMT), Andy Tsay (OMIS), and Jennifer Woolley (MGMT).

    Contributions to their departments, School, University, and profession were made by Dale Achabal (MKTG), Narendra Agrawal (OMIS), Linda Alepin (BUSN), Adina Ardelean (ECON), Gregory Baker (MGMT), Mario Belotti (ECON), Albert Bruno (MKTG), David Caldwell (MGMT), Michael Calegari (ACTG), George Chacko (FNCE), Sanjiv Das (FNCE), André Delbecq (MGMT), Michael Eames (ACTG), Alexander Field (ECON), Mary Furlong (BUSN), Manoochehr Ghiassi (OMIS), Terri Griffith (MGMT), John Ifcher (ECON), Hoje Jo (FNCE), Kirthi Kalyanam (MKTG), Michael Kevane (ECON), James Koch (MGMT), Mike Levenhagen (MGMT), Haibing Lu (OMIS), Suzanne Luttman (ACTG), Shelby McInityre (MKTG), Susan Parker (ACTG), Hersh Shefrin (FNCE), Dongsoo Shin (ECON), Meir Statman (FNCE), John Toppel (MGMT), Andy Tsay (OMIS), Manuel Velasquez (MGMT), and Steven Wade (FNCE).


    Staff Awards
    Business school staff members were recognized at the annual Staff Appreciation lunch on May 2. Five staff members were recognized for outstanding contributions to the business school community.

    Collaboration – 
    David Dawson, Business School Web Coordinator
    This award recognizes the staff member who works to build cooperative relationships and foster teamwork throughout the business school and the University.

    Innovation – 
    Bill Mains, Director of Sustainability and Leadership Development
    This award acknowledges the staff person who incorporates new perspectives and new approaches to the workplace. 

    Student Experience – 
    Melissa Sims, Accounting Department Sr. Administrative Assistant
    Nicole Maxwell, Marketing Department Sr. Administrative Assistant

    This award salutes the staff members who go ‘above and beyond’ to enhance business school student learning, inside and outside the classroom.

    Dean’s Special Recognition Award – 
    Hayley Redburn, Retail Management Institute Sr. Administrative Assistant
    This award recognizes unwavering dedication to the business school.

Printer-friendly format