Santa Clara University

Modern Languages and Literatures department

Faculty and Staff

Faculty able to advise Majors: Faculty Advisors

The Department of Modern Languages offers courses in
seven different languages:




Department Administration

site stats
Dr. Jill Pellettieri
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1999
U.C. Davis

Chair

 Pellettieri1 Office: Kenna 225-D
Email: jpellettieri@scu.edu
Phone:  408-554-4838
Kari Craighead
Sr. Administrative Assistant
undefined
Office: Kenna 112-C
E-mail: kcraighead@scu.edu
Phone: 408-554-4049

Arabic Studies

Elijah Reynolds
Adjunct Lecturer
M.A., 2007
Indiana University

ProfessorReynolds

Office: Kenna 215
Email: ereynolds@scu.edu
Phone: 408-554-4128


 

Chinese Studies

Yujie Ge
Lecturer
M.A., 2002
University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Yujie Ge

Office: Kenna 225-L
Email: YGe1@scu.edu
Phone: 408-554-7866

Chunhui Peng

Adjunct Lecturer
Ph.D., 2009
University of California, San Diego


No Photo Available
Office: Kenna 225-D
Email: CPeng@scu.edu
Phone: 408-551-3175

 

French and Francophone Studies


Dr. Jimia Boutouba
Assistant Professor

Ph.D., 2004
University of Southern California
Boutouba PIc 

Office: Kenna 225-E
E-mail:jboutouba@scu.edu
Phone: 408-554-5176


Lucile Couplan-Cashman
Lecturer
M.A., 1978
Arizona State University
Lucile Couplan-Cashman Office: Kenna 112-B
Email: lcouplancashman@scu.edu
Phone: 408-554-6837

Dr. Catherine Montfort
Professor
Ph.D., 1977
Stanford University

 

undefined Office: Kenna 225-K
E-mail: cmontfort@scu.edu
Phone: 408-554-4056

E-Res link
Nina P. Tanti
Lecturer
M.A., 1996
San Jose State University
Nina P. Tanti

Office: Kenna 112-G
Email: ntanti@scu.edu
Phone: 408-554-5177

     

German Studies

Dr. Gudrun Tabbert-Jones
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1977
Stanford University
Dr. Gudrun Tabbert-Jones

Office: Kenna 225-F
Email: gtabbertjones@scu.edu
Phone: 408-554-4125

Dr. Josef Hellebrandt
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1990
Purdue University


 Dr. Josef Hellebrandt Office: Kenna 112-F
Email: jhellebrandt@scu.edu
Phone: 408-554-4881

Maike Ahrends
Adjunct Lecturer
Ph.D.,
University of Michigan

No Photo Available


Office: Kenna 215
Email: MAhrends@scu.edu
Phone: 408-551-3173

Italian Studies 

 
Dr. Victor B. Vari
Professor, Emeritus

Ph.D., 1961
University of Madrid
undefined  

Dr. Tonia Caterina Riviello
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1984
University of Wisconsin, Madison

 

Riviello Office: Kenna 217

Email: triviello@scu.edu

Phone: 408-554-4590

Marie Bertola
Lecturer
M.A., 1999
Sorbonne Nouvelle

Prof. Marie Bertola

Office: Kenna 219
Email: mbertola@scu.edu
Phone:  408-554-2319

Irene Bubula-Phillips
Lecturer
M.A., 1990
San Jose State University
Irene Bubula-Phillips Office: Kenna 225-H
Email: ibubulaphillips@scu.edu
Phone: 408-551-1810
Amyrose McCue Gill
Adjunct Lecturer

 

 

 

 

Dr. Amyrose McCue Gill  Office: Kenna 112-H
Email: amccuegill@scu.edu
Phone: 408-551-3171
Evelyn Ferraro
Adjunct Lecturer 

 

 

 

 

No Photo Available
Office: Kenna 223-Hall
Email: eferraro@scu.edu
Phone: 408-551-3093

 

 

 

 

Japanese Studies

Seiko Horibe-Fujii
Adjunct Lecturer
Ph.D., 2002
Purdue University
No Photo Available
Office: Kenna 112-H
Email: Sfujii@scu.edu
Phone: 408-551-3174
Midori Ishida
Adjunct Lecturer

 

 

Midori Ishida Office: Kenna 225-D
Email: mishida@scu.edu
Phone: 408-554-4047

Yoshiko Miyakoshi

Lecturer
M.A., 1997
The School for International Training

 Yoshiko Office: Kenna 225-M
Email: ymiyakoshi@scu.edu
Phone: 408-551-3168

Note: Professor is currently on leave for the 2013-2014 Academic school year.

Noriko Yoneji
Adjunct Lecturer
M.A., 1990
Monterey Institute of International Studies

Noriko Yoneji Office: Kenna 211
Email: nyoneji@scu.edu
Phone: 408-551-3170

Spanish Studies

Dr. Rose Marie Beebe
Professor
Ph.D., 1983
Stanford University
Dr. Rose Marie Beebe Office: Kenna 225-C
Email: rbeebe@scu.edu
Phone: 408-554-4962
E-Res link
Dr. Josef Hellebrandt
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1990
Purdue University
Dr. Josef Hellebrandt Office: Kenna 112-F
E-mail: jhellebrandt@scu.edu
Phone: 408-554-4881
Dr. Francisco Jimenez
Professor
Fay Boyle Professor
Ph.D., 1972
Columbia University
Dr. Francisco Jimenez

Office: Kenna 225-J
Email: fjimenez@scu.edu
Phone:  408-554-5175
Homepage
Biography: [English] [Spanish]

Dr. Gloria Elsa Li
Senior Lecturer
Ph.D., 1995
Stanford University

 

Gloria Li Office: Kenna 225-G
Email: gli@scu.edu
Phone: 408-554-4081

Dr. Jill Pellettieri
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1999
U.C. Davis

 

Jill Pelletieri, faculty

Office: Kenna 225-I
Email: jpellettieri@scu.edu
Phone:  408-554-4838

Dr. Lucia T. Varona
Senior Lecturer
Ed.D., 1996
University of San Francisco
Dr. Lucia T. Varona Office: Kenna 112-D
Email: lvarona@scu.edu
Phone: 408-554-4850
Homepage
Marc Accornero
Lecturer
M.A., 1969
University of California, Berkeley
Prof. Marc Accornero Office: Kenna 225-B
Email: maccornero@scu.edu
Phone: 408-551-3166

Maria Bauluz
Adjunct Lecturer
M.A., 1996
University of Iowa

Prof. Maria Bauluz Office: Kenna 112-H Email: mbauluz@scu.edu
Phone: 408-554-4841
Stephanie Daffer
Lecturer
M.A., 1975
University of Texas, El Paso
Stephanie Daffer, faculty Office: Kenna 225-B
Email: sdaffer@scu.edu
Phone: 408-551-3167

Lourdes Gabikagojeaskoa
Adjunct Lecturer

No Photo Available

Office: Kenna 213
Email: lgabikagojeaskoa@scu.edu
Phone: 408-551-3172

 

 

 

 

Maria Gonzalez
Adjunct Lecturer
M.A. 1973 
San Jose State University
 gonzalez Office: Kenna 213
Email: Mgonzalez@scu.edu
Phone: 408-554-4002 

Debra Herrick
Adjunct Lecture

 

 

 

 

 

picture 1 website 

Office: Kenna 221
Email: dherrick@scu.edu
Phone: 408-551-3334

Irena Stefanova
Lecturer
M.A., 2000
Simon Fraser University, Canada

Prof. Irena Stefanova Office: Kenna 211
Email: istefanova@scu.edu
Phone: 408-551-3169
Jennifer Segura-Lisses

Lecturer
M.A., 1997
CSU, Long Beach

No Photo Available Office: Kenna 221

Email: JSeguraLisses@scu.edu

Phone: 408-554-4850
Alberto Ribas-Casasayas
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2007
Harvard University

 

crop ribas  Office: Kenna 225-A

Email: aribascasasayas@scu.edu


Phone: 408-551-3165



 

Dr. Victor B. Vari

Dr. Vari

Read about Dr. Victor B. Vari, Italian professor at Santa Clara University, and his six decades of experience as a professor.Go

 

Video of Book to Action
book

 

 

Dr. Rose Marie Beebe

     Dr. Rose Marie Beebe

"An afternoon of history with a Spanish Professor" discusses Santa Clara University Spanish Professor Dr. Rose Marie Beebe and her recent magazine publications, La Mezcla and Nuevos Caminos.Go

 

 

 

Jimia Boutouba

jimena

The Standford Daily

French Vote a Rejection of Sarkozy, Panelists Say

Printer-friendly format