Santa Clara University

Religious Studies department

Minor Requirements

Click for Requirements Form


An academic minor is available for students who would like to pursue a limited but concentrated program in religious studies. It is a popular choice for many students, because it only requires four courses beyond the three already present in the Core.

The minor consists of seven courses distributed across several curricular areas in the department.


In the minor program, students are required to take seven religious studies courses, including the University core requirements.

  1. One introductory level course.

  2. Two intermediate level courses.

  3. Four upper-division level courses, one of which must be a religious studies seminar (RSS).

Of these seven courses, at least one course is required in each of the following areas: Scripture and Tradition (SCTR); Theology, Ethics and Spirituality (TESP); and Religion and Society (RSOC).

Study Abroad


The Policy of the new Core is that students studying abroad may only fulfill the RTC 2 Core course while abroad. To learn more click here.

Fall 2014 Courses that Fulfill Religion Requirement


Click here for more info

Printer-friendly format