Santa Clara University

Religious Studies department

Regular Faculty


Religious Studies Department


 
 
Bennett_2
James B. Bennett (2002)
Associate Professor
Ph.D. 1999, Yale University; American religious history, new religious movements, immigrant religion, native American religious traditions.
Kenna 300I 
Office Hours:
W 10:30 - 11:30
Th 2:30 - 3:30
or by appt.
(408) 551-1910
jbbennett@scu.edu
 
 
buckley
Michael J. Buckley, S.J. (2006)
Augustine Cardinal Bea Professor 
Ph.D. 1967, University of Chicago; systematic theology and spirituality.
Bea House/890 Benton Street
Office Hours:
by appt.
(408) 551-3000 x6438
mbuckley@scu.edu
 
 
Carmody-140W_2
Denise Lardner Carmody (1994)
Professor
University Provost (2000-2006) 
Ph.D. 1970, Boston College; world religions, women in world religions.
Kenna 319 
Office Hours:
MW 2:00 - 3:00
or by appt.
(408) 554-5501
dcarmody@scu.edu
 
 

Castori
Michael T. Castori, S.J. (2007)
Assistant Professor

Ph.D. 2005, University of California, Berkeley; Graduate Theological Union, Berkeley; Hebrew scriptures, Christian scriptures, Jewish studies, andcient Biblical interpretation, religion and dialogue.
Kenna 323E
Office Hours:





(408) 551-3000 x6435

mttcastori@scu.edu
 
 
Crowley-140W_2
Paul G. Crowley, S.J. (1989)
Jesuit Community Professor
Religious Studies Department Chair
Ph.D. 1984, Graduate Theological Union, Berkeley; systematic theology, hermeneutics, historical theology.
Kenna 323H 
Office Hours:
by appt.
(408) 554-4542

pcrowley@scu.edu
 
 
 
Gray
David Gray (2005)
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2001, Columbia University; Buddhism, East Asian Religions.
Kenna 300F 
Office Hours:
by appt.
(408) 554-4343
dgray@scu.edu
 
 
Heyer
Kristin Heyer (2009)
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 2003, Boston College; Theological Ethics
Kenna 300D
Office Hours:
by appt. 
(408) 551-3000 x4758
kheyer@scu.edu
 
 
Hinga
Teresia Hinga (2005)
Associate Professor
Ph.D., 1990, University of Lancaster; African Religions.
Kenna 323J 
Office Hours:
T 3:00 - 4:00
or by appt. 
(408) 554-4653
thinga@scu.edu
 
 
DianeJontePace
Diane E. Jonte-Pace (1988)
Professor
Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
Ph.D. 1984, University of Chicago; psychology of religion, women and religion.
Walsh 204
(408) 554-4751
djontepace@scu.edu
 
 

Lerner_1
Akiba Lerner (2009)
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2007, Stanford University; Jewish Studies, Modern Jewish Thought
Kenna 300G
Office Hours:
by appt. 
(408) 551-3000 x4275
alerner@scu.edu
 
 

Macy
Gary A. Macy (2007)
John Nobili, S.J. Professor
Ph.D. 1978, University of Cambridge; Christianity and its practice, the early Church, medieval Church, Christian sacramental practice.
Kenna 323D 
Office Hours:
by appt. 
(408) 554-2357
gmacy@scu.edu
 
 
McCarthy
Michael C. McCarthy, S.J. (2003)
Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2003, University of Notre Dame; early Christian exegesis and liturgy, Augustine and patristic theology, Greek and Latin literature.
Kenna 300E 
Office Hours:
MW 3:30 - 4:30
or by appt.
mcmccarthy@scu.edu
 
 
mclean
Margaret R. McLean (1998)
Senior Lecturer
Ph.D. 1997, Graduate Theological Union, Berkeley; Christian ethics, medical ethics.
Kenna 309
Office Hours:
by appt.
(408) 554-4686;
(408)  554-7889
mmclean@scu.edu
 
 
Murphy-140W_1
Catherine M. Murphy (1998)
Associate Professor
Ph.D. 1999, University of Notre Dame; New Testament, early Christian history, Dead Sea Scrolls, postcolonial criticism.
Kenna 323B 
Office Hours:
T 4:30 - 5:45

or by appt. 
(408) 551-1909
cmurphy@scu.edu
 
 
 Parrella-140W_1
Frederick J. Parrella (1977)
Professor
Ph.D. 1974, Fordham University; systematic theology, Christology, ecclesiology, theology of marriage.
Kenna 300H 
Office Hours:
T 11:45 - 12:30
Th 12:45 - 1:45, 3:30-4:00
or by appt. 
(408) 554-4714
fparrella@scu.edu
 
 
David Pinault
David Pinault (1997)
Associate Professor
Ph.D. 1986, University of Pennsylvania; Islamic and Arabic studies.
Kenna 323I 
Office Hours:

by appt. 
(408) 554-6987
dpinault@scu.edu
 
 
 Pindea-140W_1
Ana María Pineda, R.S.M. (1997)
Associate Professor
S.T.D. 1992, Universidad Pontificia de Salamanca; Hispanic theology, spirituality and ministry.
Kenna 300C 
Office Hours:
W 1:30 - 3:00
or by appt. 
(408) 554-6958
ampineda@scu.edu
 
 
Pleins-140W_2
John David Pleins (1987)
Professor
Ph.D. 1986, University of Michigan; Old Testament, Hebrew Bible, archaeology.
Kenna 300J 
Office Hours:
MW 1:00 - 2:00,
4:00 - 4:30

or by appt
(408) 554-4763
jpleins@scu.edu
 
 
 Reites-140W_1
James W. Reites, S.J. (1975)
Associate Professor
S.T.D. 1977, Pontifical Gregorian University; Christian spirituality, biblical studies, Catholic theology.
Kenna 300B
Office Hours:
M 2:00 - 3:15
T 10:00 - 11:00

or by appt. 
(408) 554-6959
jreites@scu.edu
 
 
Riley
Philip Boo Riley (1978)
Associate Professor
Ph.D. 1980, McMaster University; philosophy of religion, Lonergan studies, systematic theology, method in theology.
Kenna 323C
Office Hours:
T/W 2:00 - 3:30

(408) 554-2199
priley@scu.edu
 
 
 Smith-sm_1
Francis R. Smith, S.J. (1974)
Associate Professor
S.T.D. 1976, Pontifical Gregorian University; Catholic systematic theology, Christology, liberation theology.
Kenna 303 
Office Hours:

by appt.
(408) 554-4044
fsmith@scu.edu
 
 
 tassone
Salvatore A. Tassone, S.J. (1968)
Senior Lecturer
S.T.D. 1968, Pontifical Gregorian University; biblical studies, New Testament.
Kenna 315 
Office Hours:
MW 3:15 - 4:00 
(408) 554-4595
stassone@scu.edu
 
 

Emeritus Faculty

Joseph A. Grassi (1971)
Professor Emeritus
S.T.L. 1949, Angelicum; S.S.L., 1951, Pontifical Biblical Institute; biblical studies, gospel criticism.
jgrassi@scu.edu
 
 

mongoven-sm

Anne Marie Mongoven, O.P.(1982)
Professor Emerita
Ph.D. 1982, Catholic University of America; catechetics.
mongoven@infionline.net
 
 
Printer-friendly format