Santa Clara University

Undergraduate Computer Engineering

Student Organizations

Computer Engineering students participate in a number of student organizations. Interested students should contact the faculty advisor of the individual organization.



The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) is widely recognized as the premier membership organization for computing professionals, delivering resources that advance computing as a science and a profession; enable professional development; and promote policies and research that benefit society.

The Santa Clara chapter offers a free, one-year membership to all admitted students, and hosts events ranging from pizza parties to guest lectures.

  • President: Phillip Peralez (Computer Science)
  • Vice President: Kenneth Bigler (Computer Science & Engineering)
  • Secretary: Paul Thurston (Computer Science & Engineering)
  • Treasurer: Kurt Jurgens (Computer Science & Engineering)
  • Event Coordinator: Vicente Ciancio (Computer Science & Engineering)
  • Advisor: S. Figueira (Computer Engineering Department)


The IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) is the world’s leading professional association for the advancement of technology. Through its members, the IEEE is a leading authority in technical areas ranging from computer engineering, biomedical technology and telecommunications, to electric power, aerospace engineering and consumer electronics, among others.

The Santa Clara chapter usually holds weekly meetings (with food provided), barbecues, and movie nights. The chapter also competes in the annual Micromouse competition, which is a competition between various regional schools where robots navigate, solve, and execute the fastest path in a maze.

  • Chair: J.P. Allport (Electrical Engineering)
  • Treasurer: Derrick Breska (Electrical Engineering)
  • Secretary: Nathan Depew (Electrical Engineering)
  • Sophomore Rep.: Jasper Tan (Electrical Engineering)
  • Advisor: S. Krishnan (Electrical Engineering Department)

Tau Beta Pi

Tau Beta Pi is the national engineering honor society. The Santa Clara chapter was established in 1956. The purpose is to offer appropriate recognition of superior scholarship and exemplary character in engineering students. Engineering students in the upper twenty percent of their class are eligible, and must demonstrate personal integrity, breadth of interest, adaptability, and unselfish activity.

The Santa Clara chapter offers free, walk-in tutoring in introductory math, physics, chemistry, and engineering classes, generally on Monday through Thursday evenings.

  • President: Silvia Garcia (Civil Engineering)
  • Vice President: Marina Howard (Civil Engineering)
  • Treasurer: Megan Cronan (Civil Engineering)
  • Corresponding Secretary: Michaela Nava (Civil Engineering)
  • Recording Secretary: Peter Baumgartner (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Advisors: S. Chiesa (Civil Engineering Department), D. Fabris (Mechanical Engineering Department), S. Wood (Electrical Engineering Department)

Upsilon Pi Epsilon

Upsilon Pi Epsilon (UPE) is the first and only existing international honor society in the computing and information disciplines. The Santa Clara Chapter was established in 1990. Undergraduates must possess a 3.25 grade-point average overall and in the major and must have completed at least 64 units of credit and rank in the upper third of their class.

Selected students are typically juniors and seniors majoring in Computer Science and Engineering, Web Design and Engineering, Computer Science, or Operations and Management Information Systems. Selected juniors are elected officers for the following year.

  • President: Alexandria Shearer (Computer Science & Engineering)
  • Vice President: John Judnich (Computer Science & Engineering)
  • Event Coordinator: Samantha Pham (Computer Science & Engineering)
  • Secretary: Ketan Kumar (Computer Science & Engineering)
  • Advisor: D. Atkinson (Computer Engineering Department)
Printer-friendly format