Markkula Center of Applied Ethics

Scholars and Associates


An interdisciplinary group of faculty, the scholars are actively engaged in teaching, research, and community programs in applied ethics. Associates are part-time Santa Clara University faculty working in the area of applied ethics and individuals outside the University who are committed to exploring ethics in public and professional life. Scholars and Associates are elected by the Steering Committee.

     
Margalynne J. Armstrong

Associate Professor/Associate Academic Director
School of Law
marmstrong@scu.edu
Christine M. Bachen
Associate Professor/Director of Assessment
Communication Department
cbachen@scu.edu
Denise L. Carmody
Professor
Religious Studies Department
dcarmody@scu.edu
Elsa Y. Chen Assistant Professor
Political Science Department
echen@scu.edu
Paul Crowley S.J. Member Jesuit Community/ Jesuit Community Professor/Courtesy Faculty of SCU in Systematics, Jesuit School of Theology - Berkeley Campus
Religious Studies Department
pcrowley@scu.edu
Elizabeth Day

Lecturer
Liberal Studies - Undergraduate Program
ebday@scu.edu
David DeCosse Director of Campus Ethics/Adjunct Associate Professor Religious Studies Department
Markkula Center for Applied Ethics
Adjunct Associate Professor
Religious Studies Department
ddecosse@scu.edu
Marilyn J. Edelstein Associate Professor
English Department
medelstein@scu.edu
Marilyn Fernandez Professor
Sociology Department
mfernandez@scu.edu
Robert Finocchio Professor Practice, Business School Undergraduate Business Programs
Business School Undergraduate Business Programs
rfinocchio@scu.edu
Lisa Fullam Associate Professor of Moral Theology
Jesuit School of Theology Berkeley Campus
lfullam@jstb.edu
Sara Soledad Garcia Associate Professor
Department of Education
sgarcia@scu.edu
Eric Goldman Associate Professor-Law School/ Director, Law, School of - High Tech Law Institute
egoldman@scu.edu
Leslie Gray Associate Professor
Environmental Studies Institute
lcgray@scu.edu
Kirk O. Hanson Executive Director
Markkula Center for Applied Ethics
John Courtney Murray S.J. University Professor of Social Ethics
kohanson@scu.edu
Timothy J. Healy Professor
Electrical Engineering Department
thealy@scu.edu
Harold Hoyle Lecturer
Department of Education
hhoyle@scu.edu
Francisco Jimenez
Professor of Spanish
Modern Languages and Literatures
fjimenez@scu.edu

Stephen A. Johnson
Senior Lecturer Department of Education/Director of Character Education, Markkula Center for Applied Ethics
Markkula Center for Applied Ethics
Senior Lecturer
Education Department
sjohnson@scu.edu
Diane E. Jonte-Pace
Vice Provost For Academic Affairs
Professor
Religious Studies Department
djontepace@scu.edu
Philip J. Kain Chair, Professor, Philosophy Department
Philosophy Department
pkain@scu.edu
Michael J. Kevane Associate Professor
Department of Economics
mkevane@scu.edu
Christopher B. Kulp Associate Professor
Philosophy Department
ckulp@scu.edu
Scott LaBarge Associate Professor Philosophy Department and Classics Department/Faculty Director - Alpha, Residential Learning Communities
Philosophy Department and Classics Department
slabarge@scu.edu
Dale G. Larson Professor
Counseling Psychology
dlarson@scu.edu
Sally Lehrman Knight Ridder
Endowed Chair in Journalism and the Public
Interest Communication Department
slehrman@scu.edu
Kenneth Manaster
Professor
School of Law
kmanaster@scu.edu
Margaret McLean
Associate Director and Director of Bioethics
Markkula Center for Applied Ethics
Senior Lecturer
Religious Studies Department
mmclean@scu.edu
Leilani M. Miller
Associate Professor, Biology Department/Director, University Honors Program, LEAD Scholars Program, Office of Fellowships, Undergraduate Studies/Director, LEAD Scholars Program/Director, University Honors Program/Director, Office of Fellowships
Biology Department
lmiller@scu.edu
Peter I. Minowitz Professor
Political Science Department
pminowitz@scu.edu
Dennis J. Moberg Gerald and Bonita A. Wilkinson Professor
Management Department
dmoberg@scu.edu
Godfrey Mungal Dean, School of Engineering mgmungal@scu.edu
Judy Nadler
Senior Fellow, Government Ethics
Markkula Center for Applied Ethics
JNadler@scu.edu
Lawrence Nelson Resident Director - Alpha & Cyphi, Residential Learning Communities/Associate Professor, Philosophy Department
Philosophy Department
lnelson@scu.edu
Michelle Oberman Professor
School of Law
moberman@scu.edu
William, S.J. O'Neill Associate Professor of Social Ethics
Jesuit School of Theology
Berkeley Campus
woneill@jstb.edu
Thomas G. Plante
Augustin Cardinal Bea, S.J., University Professor, Psychology Department
Psychology Department
tplante@scu.edu
Helen A. Popper
Associate Professor
Economics Department
hpopper@scu.edu
William J. Prior Professor
Philosophy Department
wprior@scu.edu
Elizabeth S. Radcliffe Philosophy Department eradcliffe@scu.edu
Chad H. Raphael Chair, Associate Professor, Communication Department
Communication Department
craphael@scu.edu
Laura Robinson
Associate Professor
Sociology Department
lrobinson@scu.edu
Margaret M. Russell
Associate Professor
School of Law
mrussell@scu.edu
Alan W. Scheflin Professor
School of Law
ascheflin@scu.edu
Amy Shachter Associate Professor, Biochemistry Department
Associate Provost,
Research and Faculty Affairs
ashachter@scu.edu
Hersh M. Shefrin
Professor
Finance Department
hshefrin@scu.edu
Sukhmander Singh Professor
Civil Engineering Department
ssingh@scu.edu
David Sloss Director
School of Law - Center for Global Law and Policy
Professor, School of Law
dlsloss@scu.edu
Meir Statman Professor Finance Department mstatman@scu.edu
William A. Sundstrom Professor, Economics
Economics Department
wsundstrom@scu.edu
Jiri Toman Professor
School of Law
jtoman@scu.edu
Gerald Uelmen
Professor
School of Law
guelmen@scu.edu
Nancy Unger Associate Professor
History Department
nunger@scu.edu
Shannon Vallor Assistant Professor Philoshy Department svallor@scu.edu
Beth Van Schaack Associate Professor
School of Law
bvanschaack@scu.edu
Manuel G. Velasquez Charles J. Dirksen Professor of Business Ethics
Management Department
mvelasquez@scu.edu
Keith Warner OFM Director, Education Center for Science, Technology, and Society kwarner@scu.edu
David Yosifon Associate Professor,
School of Law
DYosifon@scu.edu
Aleksandar Zecevic
Professor, Electrical Engineering Department, Associate Dean for Graduate Studies, Engineering, School of - Graduate Programs, Associate Dean for Graduate Studies,
Electrical Engineering Deparment
azecevic@scu.edu
Philip J. Kain Professor
Philosophy Department
marmstrong@scu.edu