The Architects of Peace Award

Watch a video of the first Architects of Peace Award presentation
Windows Media

How does a person build peace? There are the obvious paths: He might negotiate a treaty between warring nations. She might change her country's policies to prevent conflict with a neighbor. But there are other, perhaps less obvious ways-- bringing scientific discoveries to bear on malnutrition, standing up for the rights of the oppressed, writing poems or making films that capture the experience of the marginalized.

In 2005 the Markkula Center for Applied Ethics at Santa Clara University honored two global figures who have been powerful forces for peace in the world. The recipients are individuals who have pursued peace in diverse ways, but their common traits include self-sacrifice, courage, vision, compassion, and forgiveness.

The award was given by the president of Santa Clara University, Paul Locatelli, S.J. Honorees were added to the on-line Architects of Peace curriculum, based on the work of photographer Michael Collopy and highlighting the accomplishments of more than 70 peacemakers.

Mary Robinson
Marla Ruzicka