Santa Clara University

FYI: faculty-staff newsletter

fyi - News for the Campus Community

View all items »

 Grants, Awards, and Publications

The Arrupe Partnerships were nominated by Santa Clara Adult Education to receive the Adult Education Collaborative Services Award presented by the California Council for Adult Education.
Rohit Chopra (Communication) had a new publication, “Introduction: Media, Culture, and Identity in the Time of the Global,” released in Global Media, Culture, and Identity.
Silvia Figueira (Computer Engineering) received $5,208 as one of the CSTS Jeff and Karen Miller Faculty Fellowships in Frugal Innovation to create her Mobile Health Lab.
The Ignatian Center for Jesuit Education has announced the Bannan Grant recipients for Fall 2011. Bannan Grants are available to faculty, staff, and students who wish to explore the implications of Ignatian and Jesuit values within the ongoing life of the University. The 2011 recipients are:
·         “Shakespeare at San Quentin,” Aldo Billingslea (Theatre and Dance)
·         “SCU Delegation to Magis/World Youth Day 2011,” Jack Treacy, S.J. (Campus Ministry)
·         “Has Jesuit Education Changed Us? A Look at First Generation College Student Experiences at Jesuit Universities,” Lester Deanes (Student Life), Erin Kimura-Walsh (Ethnic Studies and LEAD Scholars)
·         “Creating Sacred Space: A Labyrinth for the Santa Clara University Campus and Beyond,” Julia Claire Landry (Campus Ministry)
Chris Kitts (Mechanical Engineering, Robotics Systems Lab) has been reappointed for a fourth year as Technical Editor for the IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics.
Shoba Krishnan (Electrical Engineering) has received $8,333 subcontract award from the University of Minnesota/Dept. of Energy to support "A Nationwide Consortium of Universities to Revitalize Electric Power Engineering Education by State of the Art Laboratories." This is the first year funding of an anticipated three-year grant totaling $24,996, and is part of the American Reinvestment and Recovery Act Funding.
James Lai (Ethnic Studies and Political Science) was invited by the McKesson Corporation in San Francisco to give a talk on his book Asian American Political Action: Suburban Transformations for Asian Pacific American Heritage Month on May 3.
Dale Larson (Counseling Psychology) gave a presentation, "The Journey of Compassion," at the 2011 Florida Hospices and Palliative Care Conference, The Heart and Science of Caring in Florida on May 6.
Nam Ling (Computer Engineering) has been elected a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology. Additionally, Ling and Ph.D. student Guichun Li, together with researchers from Huawei Technologies, will present their paper, "Integration of Plane Mode with Multiple Predictor Sets in Intra Prediction for Video Coding," at the IEEE International Symposium on Circuits and Systems (ISCAS) in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in May.
Tokunbo Ogunfunmi (Electrical Engineering) and two Ph.D. students have invited papers for presentation at the upcoming 2011 IEEE International Symposium on Circuits and Systems taking place in May in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil: "Digital Post-linearization of a Wideband Low Noise Amplifier for Ultra-Wideband Wireless Receivers" with Ifiok Umoh, and "On the complex Kernel-based Adaptive Filter" with Thomas Paul.He and Ph.D. student, JeoongSung Park will also present "FPGA Implementation of Channel Estimation for MIMO-OFDM."
Kathleen Ridolfi (Law) has received an additional $39,690 in subcontract funding from CalEMA to support "California Postconviction DNA Testing Assistance."
Sally Wood and Drazen Fabris (Engineering) were announced as the new chairs of electrical and mechanical engineering for a period of three years, beginning Sept. 1.

Toshishige Yamada (Center for Nanostructures) gave a presentation, "Modeling of nanocarbon ultracapacitor," in the US-Taiwan Nanoscience workshop in April in Seattle.

More grants, awards, and publications will appear in the next edition of fyi. The last edition of fyi for the academic year will be published June 1. If you have any announcements you would like to submit, email by May 19.


Tags: Awards

Printer-friendly format