Santa Clara University

Michael E. Engh, S.J.

Past Presidents

About the Presidents:

Prior to the Presidency of Patrick A. Donohoe, S.J., Santa Clara presidents did not serve for a term of more than six consecutive years because the president was also the rector (religious superior) of the Jesuit community and Jesuit regulations limited the number of consecutive years a rector could serve. In 1968, the positions of president and rector were separated and since then presidents have served for as long as the individual and the Board of Trustees chose. Father Paul Locatelli, S.J., has been the longest serving president at the University, which was established in 1851, stepping down after 20 years of presidency.

Past SCU Presidents:

Paul L. Locatelli, S.J. 1988-08

William J. Rewak. S.J. 1976-88

Thomas D. Terry, S.J. 1968-76

Patrick A. Donohoe, S.J. 1958-68

Herman J. Hauck, S.J. 1951-58

William C. Gianera, S.J. 1945-51

Charles J. Walsh, S.J., 1940-45

Louis C. Rudolph, S.J. 1935-40

James J. Lyons, S.J., 1932-35

Cornelius J. McCoy, S.J., 1926-32

Zacheus J. Maher, S.J., 1921-26

Timothy L. Murphy, S.J., 1918-21

Walter F. Thornton, S.J., 1913-18

James P. Morrissey, S.J., 1910-13

Richard A. Gleeson, S.J., 1905-10

Robert E. Kenna, S.J., 1899-1905

Joseph W. Riordan, S.J. 1893-99

John Pinasco, S.J. 1988-93

Robert E. Kenna, S.J., 1883-88

John Pinasco, S.J., 1880-83

Aloysius Brunengo, S.J., 1876-80

Aloysius Varsi, S.J., 1868-76

Aloysius Masnata, S.J., 1865-68

Burchard Villiger, S.J., 1861-65

Felix Cicaterri, S.J., 1857-61

Nicholas Congiato, S.J., 1856-57

John Nobili, S.J., 1851-56