Santa Clara University

Office of the President

President's Updates


Back to Blog

Recognition Awards

Thursday, Sep. 19, 2013

My congratulations go the the several faculty who received awards at the Faculty Recognition event following Convocation. Each year a series of awards are given to faculty for their exemplary work as teachers and as scholars. This year's recipients are:

  • Hoje Jo, Department of Finance - President's Special Recognition Award
  • Shoba Krishnan, Department of Electrical Engineering - President's Special Recognition Award
  • Tim Healy, Department of Electrical Engineering – Presidential Award for Exemplary Service
  • Dolores LaGuardia, presented posthumously - Presidential Award for Exemplary Service
  • Michelle Burnham, Department of English - Award for Sustained Excellence in Scholarship
  • Ed Maurer, Department of Civil Engineering – Award for Recent Achievement in Scholarship
  • Jeff Zorn, Department of English - The Louis and Dorina Brutocao Award for Teaching Excellence
  • Regina Davis-Sowers, Department of Sociology - Inclusive Excellence Award
  • Samiha Mourad, Department of Electrical Engineering - Faculty Senate Professor Award

I also congratulate the staff members who were honored with awards at the Staff Recognition event on June 18. The annual event is an opportunity to acknowledge the special contributions and dedication of the staff to their divisions and to the University.  Awards were presented to:

  • Megan France, School of Education and Counseling Psychology
  • Theresa Ladrigan-Whelpley, Ignatian Center
  • Katherine Nicholson, Development Office
  • Chris Young, Facilities
  • Team Award: Eva Blanco and Aaron Ho in Undergraduate Admission, and Kaz Joseph and Yingqi Cui in Information Technology
  • Team Award: Teri Escobar and Marc Ramos in Technology Training, and Todd Schmitzer, Geoffrey Battad, Willis Dair, Jaime Lopez, John Nichols, and Michael Swartz in Information Technology

Congratulations and thanks to the award recipients for their achievements and contributions to the University.


Michael E. Engh, S.J.,

Printer-friendly format