Santa Clara University

Ethics Center Blog
Bookmark and Share

At the Center

Back to Blog

Center Welcomes New Advisory Board Members

Tuesday, Apr. 5, 2011

Jon Hoak, Ken Klein, Lori Laub, and Ervie Smith have joined the Advisory Board of the Markkula Center for Applied Ethics at Santa Clara University.

Jon Hoak is senior vice president and general counsel for Flextronics, a leading electronics manufacturing services provider to the world's top technology brands, where he oversees all legal matters for the company’s global operations. Most recently, Hoak was vice president and chief ethics and compliance officer at Hewlett Packard and an active member of the Center’s Business and Organizational Ethics Partnership. He also served as senior vice president and general counsel at NCR Corporation for 13 years.

As president of Wind River, a world leader in embedded and mobile software and a wholly owned subsidiary of Intel Corporation, Ken Klein is responsible for the management of 1,460 employees in 15 countries. Before joining Wind River, Klein served as Chief Operating Officer and a board member of Mercury Interactive for 12 years. He has also held various engineering, marketing, and management roles at Interactive Development Environments, Daisy Systems, and Hughes Aircraft Company.

Lori Laub has served as Vice President of Customer Care for Great Plains Software, Intuit Corporation, and Vantive Corporation. She has also held executive management positions at Microsoft/Great Plains Software, Ziff-Davis Publishing, and Remedy Corporation. She is the co-author of Delivering World Class Technical Support and has been a featured speaker at many prominent industry events.

As the president/CEO of Ervie L. Smith, Inc., Smith consults primarily with nonprofits in Silicon Valley in the areas of fund raising, board development, strategic planning, organizational development and capital campaigns. She has worked with numerous organizations in Silicon Valley including the American Red Cross, Santa Clara County Council of Boy Scouts of America, Parkinson’s Institute and the YMCA.