Skip to main content


Kate Morris Elected President of NAASA

Associate Professor, Kate Morris was recently elected President of the Board of Directors of the Native American Art Studies Association (NAASA) for a two-year term to run through the 20th Biennial Conference cycle. Morris has been on the board for ten years and has served as Vice President for the past four years.

NAASA, which was founded in 1980, is an international professional association of more than 300 Native and non-Native artists, scholars, and museum professionals who are devoted to the study of the arts (both historic and contemporary) of the indigenous peoples of North America. 

Other members of the Board of Directors are:
Joe Horse Capture, Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian
Emil Her Many Horses, Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian
Henrietta Lidchi, National Museums of Scotland
Deana Dartt, Portland Art Museum
Sherry Farrell Racette, University of Manitoba
Ryan Rice, Ontario College of Art and Design
Heather Igloliorte, Concordia University
Amy Lonetree, University of California Santa Cruz

Kate Morris,art,art history