Dean Tahmassebi Inspires Faculty and Staff during her First College Convocation

Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Debbie Tahmassebi welcomed faculty and staff during the College Convocation on Tuesday, September 15.  In her new role as dean, she thanked former dean Atom Yee “for his tremendous leadership and dedication” to the College, and interim dean Terri Peretti, for her “strength and determination” in making progress during her short tenure at the head of the College.

In recognizing everyone’s need to balance life, work and fun, she also thanked faculty and staff for their contributions to the College and affirmed her “great sense of responsibility to serve the College to the best of my abilities.” She charted the direction for the College of Arts and Sciences when she declared that “…at a time when many people are questioning the value of a liberal education, we will reaffirm and make obvious our commitment to providing a strong liberal arts education to develop lifelong learners in the context of a Jesuit campus in Silicon Valley.” In this regard, she listed a number of current efforts (and requested ideas for new ones) to strengthen our community, both socially and intellectually. Highlighting a visioning process that is already under way, she also pledged leadership and collaboration to develop a strong, unified College identity, to clearly articulate the place and value of the College as the heart of liberal arts at SCU and to support current initiatives and identify new ones to help achieve these goals.

Dean Tahmassebi thanked all Chairs, Program Directors and her staff for their valuable contributions to the College.  Before recognizing all tenure and promotion faculty members, she welcomed to the stage the winners of the 2015 College Awards and welcomed to SCU all new faculty and staff:

2015 College Awards

Nancy Keil Service Excellence Award – Lisa Osteraas, Departments of Psychology and Public Health

Dr. David E. Logothetti Teaching Award – Elsa Chen, Department of Political Science

Professor Joseph Bayma, S.J., Scholarship Award – Marilyn Fernandez, Department of Sociology

Dr. John B. Drahmann Advising Award – Brian Buckley, Department of Philosophy

Bernard Hubbard, S.J., Creative Collaboration Award – Michelle Bezanson, Department of Anthropology

Professor Francisco Jiménez Reaching Out Award – Aldo Billingslea, Department of Theatre and Dance

New tenure and promotion faculty

Jimia Boutouba
Modern Languages and Literatures, Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure

Juliana Chang
English, Promotion to Professor

Akiba Lerner
Religious Studies, Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure

Paul Mariani, S.J.
History, Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure

Robert Michalski
English, Promotion to Senior Lecturer

Don Riccomini
English, Promotion to Senior Lecturer

Anna Sampaio
Ethnic Studies, Awarded Tenure

Farid Senzai
Political Science, Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure

Nina Tanti
Modern Languages and Literatures, Promotion to Senior Lecturer

Michael Whalen
Communication, Promotion to Professor

New faculty
Anne Baker
Political Science, Assistant Professor

Cara Chiaraluce
Sociology, Lecturer

Meilin Chinn
Philosophy, Assistant Professor

Angela Holzmeister
Classics, Lecturer

Seiko Horibe
Modern Languages and Literatures, Lecturer

Stephanie Hughes
Environmental Studies and Sciences, Lecturer

Jean-Pierre Lacrampe
English, Lecturer

Amy Lueck
English, Assistant Professor

Roberto Mata
Religious Studies, Assistant Professor

Nicolette Meshkat
Mathematics and Computer Science, Assistant Professor

Carolynn Roncaglia
Classics, Assistant Professor

Robert Shanklin
Philosophy, Lecturer

Eric Tillman
Chemistry and Biochemistry, Professor

Sally Vance-Trembath
Religious Studies, Lecturer

New staff
Susan Babbel
Anthropology, Sociology, Sr. Administrative Assistant

Joni Berticevitch
Women’s and Gender Studies, Sr. Administrative Assistant

Carolyn Foot
SCU Presents, Production Manager

Owen Gooding
College of Arts and Sciences, Director of Laboratory Operations

Ruth Mikusko
Theatre and Dance, Sr. Administrative Assistant

Tracy Robinette
Biology, Sr. Administrative Assistant

Faith Zhou
College of Arts and Sciences, Laboratory Associate

College faculty recognized during the Santa Clara University Faculty Celebration, following the University Convocation on September 15

Shannon Vallor
Philosophy, Louis and Dorina Brutocao Award for Teaching Excellence

Blake De Maria
Art and Art History, University Award for Recent Achievement in Scholarship 

Rose Marie Beebe and Bob Senkewicz
Modern Languages and Literatures, History, University Award for Sustained Excellence in Scholarship