Skip to main content

Awards and Honors

About Psi Chi Honor Society

Psi Chi is the National Honor Society in Psychology. Psi Chi, which was founded in 1929, exists to encourage, stimulate, and maintain excellence in scholarship, and to advance the science of psychology.

Student Awards

Departmental Student Awards for 2016-2017
Wilhelm Wundt Award Meghan Carlsen : Award for excellence in academics, research & service.
Research Award Megan Pearson and Makeda Adisu: Award for outstanding service to the Psychology Department
Service Award Kiki Bartel: Award for outstanding service to the Psychology Department Service Award
Departmental awards for the senior students in May 2016:

Faculty Awards

Many of our department's professors receive awards. Below is a list of just a few notable awards that our current faculty and staff have received.

  • Dean's Service Award: Patti Simone, Psychology (2017)
  • Award for Service as Faculty Senate President: Bob Numan (2015-16)
  • Award for Sustained Excellence in Scholarship, SCU: Kieran Sullivan (2014)
  • Bernard Hubbard, S.J., Creative Collaboration Award, College of Arts and Sciences, SCU: Psychology Department (2008-09)
  • Brutocao Award for Teaching Excellence: Patti Simone (2014)
  • College of Arts and Sciences Public Intellectual Award: Thomas Plante (2013)
  • Joseph Bayma Award for Scholarship, College of Arts and Sciences, SCU: Bob Numan (2005)
  • Nancy Keil Service Excellence Award, SCU: Lisa Osteraas (2015-16)
  • Phi Beta Kappa Northern California Teaching Award: Patti Simone (2014)
  • President’s Faculty Recognition Award, SCU: Patti Simone (2008)
  • President's Faculty Recognition Award, SCU: Thomas Plante (2001)
  • Recent Achievement in Scholarship Award, SCU: Thomas Plante (2005)