Skip to main content

Department ofReligious Studies



An academic minor is available for students who would like to pursue a limited but concentrated program in religious studies. It is a popular choice for many students, because it only requires four courses beyond the three already present in the Core.

The minor consists of seven courses distributed across several curricular areas in the department.


In the minor program, students are required to take seven religious studies courses, including the University core requirements.

  1. One introductory level course.
  2. Two intermediate level courses.
  3. Four upper-division level courses, one of which must be a religious studies seminar (RSS).

Of these seven courses, at least one course is required in each of the following areas: Scripture and Tradition (SCTR); Theology, Ethics and Spirituality (TESP); and Religion and Society (RSOC).

Contact Us

David Gray, Department Chair

Vicky Gonzalez, Office Manager


Kenna Hall, 3rd Floor