Skip to main content

Financial Systems Information

To request access to PeopleSoft Financials, please complete the PeopleSoft and CASHNet Account Request Form.

If you need help with anything on this page, please contact your Department Finance Representatives.

The University's accounting distribution strings provide the coding structure that define transactions in financial terms. The strings serve as the building blocks and foundation of the general ledger. These "blocks", called chartfields, work together in a string to facilitate accounting, reporting and budgeting. The string consists of eight individual alphanumeric "blocks", or segments, called chartfields. The seven chartfields used most commonly are described below. The eighth chartfield is called Operating Unit and is only used with JST fund and department combinations.

Definition Definition Definition  Definition   Definition  Definition Definition
Values        Values      Values        Values  Values          
             

 

Fund transfers are accounting entries that move all, or a portion of, a fund's balance to another fund. The appropriateness of a fund transfer is dependent on the characteristics of the source and destination funds, including the type of fund, the restrictions of the fund. Generally, fund transfers are allowed when the use of the source and destination funds are alike and the terms of the restricted fund does not preclude such a transfer. In general, transfers are allowed to:

  • Move funds to operating funds from restricted funds
  • Transfer funds into or between plant funds
  • Allocate and reallocate general (unrestricted) funds among budget units (by University Budget Office only)

Fund transfers are created using account codes per the matrix below. First find the row that corresponds to the fund type you are transferring from and follow the columns over until you reach the fund type you are transferring to. The intersecting cell defines the account code combination to be used for the transfer transaction. Please note that all transfers require the program code of XFER. 

Fund Transfer Matrix

Month   FTARs and Chargebacks Due to UFO Accounting Close Date Reports Available Online
July 2019 Monday, August 5, 2019 Thursday, August 8, 2019 Friday, August 9, 2019
August 2019 Thursday, September 5, 2019 Tuesday, September 10, 2019 Wednesday, September 11, 2019
September 2019 Thursday, October 3, 2019 Tuesday, October 8, 2019 Wednesday, October 9, 2019
October 2019 Tuesday, November 5, 2019 Thursday, November 7, 2019 Friday, November 8, 2019
November 2019 Wednesday, December 4, 2019 Monday, December 9, 2019 Tuesday, December 10, 2019
December 2019 Monday, January 6, 2020 Thursday, January 9, 2020 Friday, January 10, 2020
January 2020 Wednesday, February 5, 2020 Friday, February 7, 2020 Monday, February 10, 2020
February 2020 Wednesday, March 4, 2020 Monday, March 9, 2020 Tuesday, March 10, 2020
March 2020 Friday, April 3, 2020 Tuesday, April 7, 2020 Wednesday, April 8, 2020
April 2020 Tuesday, May 5, 2020 Thursday, May 7, 2020 Friday, May 8, 2020
May 2020 Wednesday, June 3, 2020 Monday, June 8, 2020 Tuesday, June 9, 2020


PDF Available FY2020 Monthly Closing Schedule