Skip to main content
Markkula Center for Applied Ethics

Trust Project Working Groups

Our thanks to the many individuals and their organizations who contributed their time and expertise to the Trust Project branding identity, the Trust Indicators and their editorial and technical definitions, and the implementation of the Trust Indicators on our first member websites. These include:

  • The expert designers who collaborated on creating our branding identity and Trust Mark logo. The Trust Project Branding Group
  • The UX Working Groups (Americas, Europe) and Development Working Groups (Americas, Europe) who worked together on the details needed to implement the Trust Indicators and associated markup vocabulary on news sites.
  • The community, which collaborated with The Trust Project on new technical vocabulary for the structured data behind each Trust Indicator. A special shout-out to Dan Brickley, who led the charge.
  • The many news executives and partners who develop editorial definitions for the following Trust Indicators, labels that will help differentiate quality news from poorly reported news, press releases and propaganda:

          Best Practices
          Author/Reporter Expertise
          Article Type
          Diverse Voices
          Actionable Feedback


Trust Project Branding

Nick Etemadipour, Independent Journal Review Devin Slater, The Globe and Mail
Jordan Flaig, Independent Journal Review Patrick Slawinski, USA Today
João Matos, Deutsch Presse-Agentur Jessica Squires, Trinity Mirror plc

UX Working Groups

Europe Americas
Tamar Gur, BBC

Gabe Travers, Hearst

Luisa Sousa, BBC Nick Etemadipour, Independent Journal Review
Joao Matos, dpa Julia Smith, Institute for Nonprofit News
Martin Virtel, dpa Marcus Moretti, Mic
Ana-Maria Bourceanu, Economist Matt Ericson, New York Times
Jon Warden, Haymarket Media Angela Barber, The Globe and Mail  
Marco Antonutti, La Stampa/La Repubblica Devin Slater, The Globe and Mail
Paul Moore, Trinity Mirror Katie Parker, Washington Post 
Jessica Squires, Trinity Mirror Patrick Slawinski, USA Today

Development Working Groups

Europe Americas
James Logan, BBC Greg Gerrein, Hearst
Elsa Ranjith, BBC Michael Rosellini, Hearst
Afroditi Katika, BBC Nick Etemadipour, Independent Journal Review 
Kathryn Jonas, Economist Julia Smith, Institute for Nonprofit News
Adam Smith, Economist RC Lations, Institute for Nonprofit  News
Martin Virtel, dpa Marcus Moretti, Mic
Mark Payton, Haymarket Matthew Ericson, New York Times
Covato Giuseppe, La Stampa/La Repubblica Evan Sandhaus, New York Times
Ann Gripper, Trinity Mirror Angela Barber, The Globe and Mail
Rob Hammond, Trinity Mirror Devin Slater, The Globe and Mail
  Greg Barber, Washington Post
  Kate Chipman, USA Today

Best Practices

Karen Pensiero, Wall Street Journal Brent Jones, USA Today
Robertson Barrett, Hearst Newspapers Carlos Martinez de la Serna, Univision
John Daniszewski, Associated Press Robert McKenzie, BBC
Christoph Dernbach, dpa (Deutsche Presse-Agentur) Diversity Working Group members
Elizabeth Jensen, National Public Radio  

Author/Reporter Expertise/ID

Tyler Chance, Wall Street Journal  Michelle Srbinovich, WDET (Detroit Public Radio)
Jennifer Hicks, Wall Street Journal  Robin Honderich, The Star 
Jana Lavrov, Zeit Online  Contributions by Diversity Working Group 


Peter Bale, Center for Public Integrity, WikiTribune Manny Garcia,
Greg Barber, Washington Post David Walmsley, The Globe and Mail
Matt Ericson, New York Times Louis Wustemann, LexisNexis UK

Article Type

Celeste LeCompte, ProPublica Mizell Stewart, Gannett
Anna Masera, La Stampa Contributions by New York Times and Washington Post
Hildegunn Soldal, Dagbladet Greg Barber, Washington Post
Peggy Northrop, Shebooks    


Cheryl Carpenter, McClatchy Company Richard Gingras, Google
Phillip Davis, (ex) Intel corp. Emiliya Mychasuk, Financial Times
John Drescher, The News and Observer Esteban Roman , El Universal
Rudy Galfi, Google Contributions by other working groups
Emilio Garcia-Ruiz, Washington Post  


Steve Ackermann, Raycom Barbara Maushard, Hearst Television
Marisa Porto, Daily Press Media Group  

 Diverse Voices

Jason Begay, Native American Journalists Association/University of Montana Karen Magnuson, USA TODAY Network and ASNE
Paul Cheung, Asian American Journalists Association/Associated Press Riitta Pihlajamaki, Yle
Kristen Go, Common Sense News Tracie Monique Powell Senior Fellow at Democracy Fund
Evelyn Hsu, Maynard Institute for Journalism Education  

Actionable Feedback

Bruce Koon, KQED San Francisco Joyce Terhaar, Sacramento Bee
Mark Payton, Haymarket Consumer Media