Skip to main content
Markkula Center for Applied Ethics


Build.Plant.Grow provides catechetical instruction for children based on the Sunday readings of the Christian Church during the period beginning with Advent up to and including the closure of the liturgical year with the Feast of Christ the King. These readings from the Lectionary are divided into three-year cycles: A, B, and C. In 2014-15, for example, readings are from Cycle B.


Lesson plans include a short exegesis of the readings, application to a children's book, and the virtue that is common to the Bible readings and the children's book, activities to extend the understanding of the virtue, practical advice for incorporating the virtue in an age-appropriate manner. Examples of the children's books include such favorites as The Legend of the Sand Dollar, The Worst Day of My Life, Ever! and The Empty Pot.

Cycle A

Easter Sunday, Resurrection of the Lord

Second Sunday of Easter Divine Mercy

Third Sunday of Easter

Fourth Sunday of Easter

Fifth Sunday of Easter

Sixth Sunday of Easter

Ascension of the Lord

The Feast of Pentecost