Soccer player Julie Ertz celebrating

Soccer player Julie Ertz celebrating

Magic in Motion: Julie Ertz ’14 named 2017 Player of the Year

Former Bronco becomes the third player to earn both the U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year and Young Female Player of the Year (2012). 

Julie Ertz: Set piece magic!

Ertz just always seems to be buzzing in that box.

Her timing, her technique, is so crisp and clean.

Sportscasters’ commentary in a highlights video spanning 1 minute, 1 second, summed up a magnificent year for soccer pro Julie Johnston Ertz ’14, named 2017 U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year.

Add vivaciously versatile to that list of qualifications.

As a Bronco, Ertz primarily played midfield until a move senior year put her on the front line. For the U.S. women’s national team, she helped anchor the championship-winning defensive wall in the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup. She remained a center defender until a switch in late July bumped her into a new breakout role: center defensive midfielder. From that spot, she drove in six goals in 12 matches, mostly from set pieces. In her previous four years with the team, she notched eight goals.

The honor adds Ertz’s name to a roster of luminaries who previously earned Player of the Year status, including Michelle Akers, Mia Hamm, Abby Wambach and Carli Lloyd. Each has received the title multiple times. Player of the Year is a first for Ertz. She is only the third player to be named both the U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year and Young Female Player of the Year (2012).

“This was a really unique year for me with a lot of different challenges, but it means so much to have the support of my husband, my family, my coaches and my teammates,” said Ertz. “I’m honored and thankful from the bottom of my heart and I’m really looking forward to next year and as we have some big goals to accomplish.”

Votes are collected from respective National Team coaches, National Team players who have earned a cap in 2017, American soccer league (MLS, NASL and NWSL) head coaches, select media members, former players and administrators.

Players cannot win the Young Male or Young Female award more than once.

The U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year has been awarded since 1985; The Young Female Player of the Year honor was first awarded in 1998.


Features, Top Stories