Skip to main content

STEM Leadership

Leadership for the STEM project over the 2015-17 academic years will include four committees. Chairs will work together to collaborate and coordinate activities and report to the executive committee at regularly scheduled meetings. An additional working group will research and recommend resource and facility management models.

Executive Committee

Provides general leadership to the other STEM committees and makes decisions related to the construction of the project and connection to the larger campus facility master plan.

Dennis Jacobs
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs (Chair)

Jim Lyons
Vice President, University Relations

Godfrey Mungal
Dean, School of Engineering

Chris Shay
Interim Vice President for Finance and Administration
Assistant Vice President, University Operations

Debbie Tahmassebi
Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Academic Planning Team

The Academic Planning Team (APT) is responsible for developing an educational master plan in broad consultation with STEM faculty and staff.  The APT will also appoint and provide general leadership to other sub-committees to address relevant issues and questions in areas including, but not limited to, facilities, academic and institutional policies, operations and management, STEM community and network.

Prashanth Asuri
Assistant Professor, Bioengineering

Michael Carrasco
Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Angel Islas
Associate Professor, Biology

Lisa Millora
Senior Assistant Provost for Strategic Initiatives and Provost's Office Relations, Provost's Office (Chair)

Tonya Nilsson
Lecturer, Civil Engineering