Skip to main content

Core Curriculum

Core Committees

Fifteen Faculty Core Committees (FCCs) are responsible for reviewing course syllabi which are submitted by faculty to meet specific Core requirements. Thus, faculty shape the Core Curriculum through the exchange of ideas and their interpretation of learning goals and objectives.


2018-2019 Core Curriculum Committee Members
James Bennett Associate Provost for Undergraduate Studies and Associate Professor of Religious Studies
Katharine Heintz Director of the Core Curriculum, Chair of the Core Curriculum Committee and Senior Lecturer, Communication Department
Philip Kesten Associate Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies and Associate Professor of Physics
Christine Bachen Director of Assessment and Associate Professor of Communication
Kathleen Villarruel Schneider Senior Assistant Dean for the College of Arts & Sciences
Katherine Aoki Professor of Art & Art History and Chair of the STS FCC
Barbara Kelley Senior Lecturer in Communication and Chair of the ELSJ FCC
Cultures and Ideas 1 & 2
  • John Hawley, chair, English (term ends 06/2019)
  • Andrea Pappas, Acting Chair, Art History (term ends 06/2019)
  • Lee Panich, Anthropology (term ends 06/2019)
  • Hans Boepple, Music (sabbatical 2017-18; term ends 06/2019)
  • Paul Soukup, Communication (term ends 06/2020)
Cultures and Ideas 3  
  • Lisa Kealhofer, chair, Anthropology (term ends 06/2020)
  • Susan Popko, Global Engagement (by appointment)
  • Renee Billingslea, Art & Art History (term ends 06/2021)
  • Blake DeMaria, Art & Art History (term ends 06/2021)
  • Barbara Molony, History (term ends 06/2021)
Writing (Critical Thinking & Writing and Advanced Writing)
  • Robert Michalski, chair, English (by appointment)
  • Theresa Conefrey, English (term ends 06/2020)
  • Janice Edgerly-Rooks, Biology (term ends 06/2019)
  • Denise Krane, English (term ends 06/2019) 
  • Gail Gradowski, Library (term ends 06/2019)
  • Kathleen Maxwell, Art & Art History (term ends 06/2021)
Religion, Theology, & Culture
  • Frederick Parrella, chair, Religious Studies (term ends 06/2019)
  • Robert Scholla, Religious Studies (term ends 06/2020)
  • Donald Riccomini, English (term ends 06/2019)
  • Farid Senzai, Political Science (term ends 06/2019) 
  • Paul Crowley, S.J., Religious Studies (term ends 06/2021)
  • James Grainger, chair, Biology (term ends 06/2019)
  • Daniel Ostrov, Math and Computer Science (term ends 06/2019)
  • Glenn Appleby, Math & Computer Science (term ends 06/2021)
Second Language
  • Catherine Montfort, chair, Modern Languages and Literatures (term ends 06/2019)
  • Josef Hellebrandt, Modern Language and Literatures (term ends 06/2020)
  • Daniel Turkeltaub, Classics (term ends 06/2021)
  • Christopher Kulp, chair, Philosophy (term ends 06/2020)
  • David DeCosse, Markkula Center for Applied Ethics (by appointment)
  • Brian Buckley, Philosophy (term ends 06/2019)
  • Gail Kirby, Marketing (term ends 06/2019)
  • Shannon Vallor, Philosophy (term ends 06/2020)
  • Rohit Chopra, Communication (term ends 06/2021)
  • Scot Hanna-Weir, chair, Music (term ends 06/2020)
  • Michael Zampelli, Theater and Dance (term ends 06/2020)
  • Marilyn Edelstein, English (term ends 06/2020)
  • Takeshi Moro, Studio Art (term ends 06/2019)
  • Michelle Bezanson, Anthropology (term ends 06/2021)
  • Scott LaBarge, Philosophy (term ends 06/2019)
  • Linda Garber, chair, Women's and Gender Studies (term ends 06/2021)
  • Naomi Andrews, History (term ends 06/2020)
  • Naomi Levy, Political Science (term ends 06/2020)
  • Anna Sampaio, Ethnic Studies (by appointment)
  • Michael Kevane, Economics (term ends 06/2019)
Natural Science
  • Steven Fedder, chair, Chemistry and Biochemistry (term ends 06/2019)
  • Mary Long, Math (term ends 06/2020)
  • Iris Stewart-Frey, Environmental Studies (term ends 06/2019)
  • Craig Stephens, Biology and Public Health Science (term ends 06/2021)
  • Richard Barber, Physics (term ends 06/2021)
Social Science
  • Anthony Hazard, chair, Ethnic Studies (term ends 06/2019)
  • John Ifcher, Economics (term ends 06/2020)
  • Patti Simone, Public Health (term ends 06/2019)
  • Chris Bacon, Environmental Studies and Sciences (term ends 06/2021)
Civic Engagement
  • Greg Corning, chair, Political Science (term ends 06/2019)
  • Carol Gittens, Child Studies (term ends 06/2020)
  • Kris Mitchener, Economics (term ends 06/2020)
  • Aldo Billingslea, Theatre & Dance (term ends 06/2019)
  • Sarita Tamayo-Moraga, Religious Studies (term ends 06/2019)
Science, Technology, & Society
  • Katherine Aoki, chair, Art and Art History (term ends 06/2020)
  • Christelle Sabatier, Biology (term ends 06/2021)
  • Virginia Matzek, Environmental Studies (term ends 06/2019)
  • Tonya Nilsson, Civil Engineering (term ends 06/2019)
  • Michael Carrasco, Chemistry & Biochemistry (term ends 06/2021)
Experiential Learning for Social Justice
  • Barbara Kelley, chair, Communication (term ends 06/2019)
  • Sally Wood, Electrical Engineering (term ends 06/2020)
  • Andrea Brewster, ex officio, Undergraduate Studies (by appointment)
  • Jennifer Merritt, ex officio, Ignatian Center (by appointment)
  • Tammy Madsen, Management (term ends 06/2019)
  • Matt Bell, Psychology (term ends 06/2021)
  • Drazen Fabris, chair, Mechanical Engineering (term ends 06/2020)
  • Christine Bachen, Communication (by appointment)
  • Peter Minowitz, Political Science (term ends 06/2021) 
  • Hsin-I Cheng, Communication (term ends 06/2019)
  • William Sundstrom, Economics (term ends 06/2021)
  • Ed Schaefer, Math & Computer Science (term ends 06/2021)

* In some cases the liaison from the Core Curriculum Implementation Team will serve as committee member and chair. In other cases the committee will select one of the members to serve as chair. Additional members may be added to some committees.