Skip to main content

Collaborative Governance

Vote by June 17, 2022

The voting period is now open. Make sure you follow all directions on your ballot and return it by mail in time to arrive at the NLRB office no later than 5:00 pm Pacific Time on June 17, 2022.

The administration believes our best form of association is our collaborative governance process, which has yielded significant progress. We are committed to continued progress for the good of our faculty, students, and community.

Today, more than 40 tenure-track and non-tenure-track faculty participate in collaborative governance. They and others have a meaningful, impactful voice regarding matters of importance to our institution, faculty, and students. For faculty, our collaborative governance operates actively through the University Policy Committees and standing committees, including:

Faculty membership on most of these committees is open to non-tenure-track faculty. For example, senior lecturers may be appointed by the UCC to the Academic Affairs Committee and the Faculty Affairs Committee, and the FAC Subcommittee of Lecturers and Adjuncts has at least 5-6 non-tenure-track faculty members at any given time. Any full-time faculty member can be appointed by the UCC to the Planning Action Council, the Student Affairs Committee, and the University Budget Council. This Spring, a proposal is currently advancing through collaborative governance to make senior lecturers eligible to serve as Chair of the UCC.

In addition to the policy and standing committees, the Faculty Senate is composed of all tenure-stream, senior lecturers, renewable-term lecturers, and fixed-term faculty on greater than half-time appointments. All members of the Faculty Senate are eligible to be elected to the roles of President and President-elect. The Faculty Senate has a Committee on Lecturers and Adjuncts (COLA), currently composed of nine non-tenure-track faculty members, and one tenured faculty member.

In 2019, Interim Provost Kloppenberg requested that the UCC create, and the Faculty Senate elect, a Provost’s Adjunct Faculty and Lecturers Council (PAFLC). The council serves as a forum for adjunct faculty and lecturers to communicate and interact directly with the Provost. It is the only body that includes quarterly and semester adjunct lecturers among its fifteen elected members.

In addition to these governance and advisory bodies, the Board of Trustees appointed three faculty members to its Academic Affairs Committee in February 2020, including one non-tenure-track faculty member.

By working together, we have achieved meaningful and sustained progress on concerns raised by our valued non-tenure-track faculty, especially regarding matters related to housing and compensation, career stability, and voice and respect. The work of the Lecturers Best Practices Task Force in this regard has been both exemplary and pivotal, leading to the creation of the FAC Subcommittee on Lecturers and Adjuncts and their hree-year-long project to develop and propose a teaching professor track and improved working conditions for fixed-term, renewable-term, and continuing faculty.

The administration remains committed to this most important and unfinished work because it is the bedrock of a strong academic institution. Moreover, we are witness to the many challenges faced by so many of our faculty members living and working in one of the most expensive regions of the world and have dedicated significant focus to how we as a University community can help address these and many other challenges. Here are just a few ways:

Union Representation Impact on Shared Governance

Our system of collaborative governance would fundamentally change should the SEIU become the sole and exclusive representative on matters involving wages, benefits, and other terms of employment. Rather than multiple voices engaged in these discussions like today, there would be only one voice representing non-tenure-track faculty. 

Moreover, non-tenure-track faculty would have a diminished role in University decision-making in the current governance bodies, if they would have a role at all. For example: committees recommending policy, such as the Faculty Affairs Committee or Benefits Committee, would no longer oversee matters relating to non-tenure-track faculty appointment, evaluation and promotion, compensation, or benefits. The role of the Subcommittee for Lecturers and Adjuncts would be replaced by the union. The Faculty Senate would need to decide how and on what issues members of the bargaining unit remain voting members of the Faculty Senate; any initiatives or resolutions relating to the non-tenure-track faculty would be directed to the union rather than to the administration. We would proceed on two separate governance tracks for tenure-track and non-tenure-track faculty, which may exacerbate rather than bridge the differences we have sought to address together.