Skip to main content

Previous Honorees

2014- Kieran Sullivan (Psychology)
2013 - Michelle Burnham (English)
2012 - Sanjiv Das (Finance)
2011 - Andre Delbecq (Management)
2010 - Hersch Shefrin (Finance)
2009 - San Hernandez (Art and Art History)
2008 - Meir Statman (Finance)
2007 - Nam Ling (Computer Engineering)
2006 - Jerrold Shapiro (Counseling Psychology)
2005 - James Felt, S.J. (Philosophy)
2004 - Philip Kain (Philosophy)
2003 - Jerry Burger (Psychology)
2002 - Catherine Montfort (Modern Languages and Literature)
2001 - Alan Scheflin (Law)
2000 - Alexander Field (Economics)
1999 - Bill Duffy (Physics)
1998 - Steven Nahmias (Operations Management & Information Systems)
1997 - Cary Yang (Electrical Engineering)
1996 - Jerry Kasner (Law)
1995 - Stephen Smith (Decision & Information Sciences) 
1994 - Paul Halmos (Mathematics) & Dragoslav Siljak (Electrical Engineering)



The University Award for Sustained Excellence in Scholarship recognizes the outstanding achievements and dedication of a faculty member who has demonstrated sustained excellence in scholarly or creative work and who has been a faculty member of Santa Clara University for a minimum of ten years.


For nomination guidelines, please see below:

1. Nominations for the University Award for Sustained Excellence in Scholarship are invited each Spring by the Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Development. Any Santa Clara University faculty member may nominate a colleague at SCU for the award.

2. All nominations must be completed through the Sustained Excellence Nomination form.

3. A current curriculum vitae of the nominee must be included for consideration.

4. The following criteria are required for eligibility:

  • The nominee must be a tenured faculty member or senior lecturer who has demonstrated sustained excellence in scholarly or creative work and who has been a faculty member of Santa Clara University for a minimum of ten years.
  • The nominee has not previously won this award.

5. Once nominated, a faculty member stays in the pool of candidates under active consideration for two years, and may be nominated again any number of times.

6. The deadline for nominations will be announced annually by the Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Development. The deadline has been extended to Monday, June 1, 2020.

7. The recipient of the University Award for Sustained Excellence in Scholarship will be determined by the University Research Committee. Members of the committees who determine the awards and those to whom they report are ineligible for nomination.

  • Eric Goldman accepting award

    2019 Winner

    Eric Goldman, Law

    As an influential thought leader in the fields of internet and intellectual property law, Eric Goldman's interdisciplinary research on Internet, IP, and advertising law has resulted in more than 25 articles in prestigious journals and several book chapters. Goldman is the author of the Internet Law casebooks and co-author of the textbook, Advertising & Marketing Law. His influence is widespread, as evidenced by the hundreds of presentations he has given to academics, legal practitioners, and Silicon Valley leaders. He is also one of the most downloaded authors in the Social Science Research Network. In addition to his scholarly productivity, he is regularly quoted in prominent media outlets, has more than 10,000 Twitter followers, and is a “LinkedIn Influencer.”

  • Yongtae Kim smiling

    2018 Winner

    Yongtae Kim, Accounting

    Yongtae has produced 19 publications, was ranked 6th in the world across all areas of accounting research, and 3rd in the world in the area of financial archival research. In addition he has presented all around the world, from Canada to China, the Czech Republic to Hong Kong. He has 11 papers in Social Science Research Network (SSRN) Top 10 download list and has recieved two Moskowitz Prizes for Socially Responsible Investing, as well as two Hong Kong Government General Research Grants, and four PwC Research Grants.

  • Image links to full content

    2017 Winner

    Pat Hoggard, Chemistry and Biochemistry

    Pat is the University's first Fletcher Jones Chair, which he was awarded in 1995. Pat has led the department by example in pedagogy and scholarship, contributing over 113 publications in peer reviewed journals and given more than 40 talks at national conferences. He was recently awarded an American Chemical Society Petroleum Research Fund grant, which he will use to work with his students. Not only is he known across campus by his peers and students as a leader in scholarship, but for his musical talents on the ukulele as well.

  • Image links to full content

    2016 Winner

    Jane Curry, 2016

    In addition to her prestigious awards and fellowships, Jane Curry is a five time Fulbright recipient. Her scholarship on Poland, and the “People’s Revolutions” in Serbia, Ukraine and Georgia has resulted in 2 monographs, 7 edited or co‐edited books, approximately 50 scholarly articles, chapters, and other publications, and approximately 45 international, national, and regional conference papers and academic presentations. Jane’s scholarship is recognized for its creative and thoughtful synthesis of complex topics. Her work has earned her a lifetime achievement award from the Polish Association of Journalists.

  • Image links to full content

    2015 Winners

    Rose Marie Beebe and Bob Senkewicz, Modern Languages and Literature & History

    Rose Marie and Bob have been working together since 1996, making outstanding contributions to our understanding of Early California history and making materials available in Spanish, which was unavailable prior to the work of recovery they accomplished and their scholarship has been recognized both nationally and internationally. They have produced six scholarly books and editions, numerous translations of early California historical documents, 10 articles and book chapters, and scores of conference papers. Their most recent book, Junípero Serra: California, Indians, and the Transformation of a Missionary has been acknowledged in Rome as the definitive biography of Junípero Serra.