Skip to main content

Sustained Excellence in Scholarship

2012 Winner Sanjiv Das


Sanjiv Das has been remarkably prolific since he joined the Leavey School of Business faculty in 2000. Since then he has delivered more than 100 research presentations at conferences, workshops, and seminars, given keynote addresses in both domestic and international settings, and published nearly 60 journal articles and book chapters. May 2010 marked the culmination of a five-year effort that resulted in the publication of his 1,000-page textbook entitled, “Derivatives: Principles and Practice” that is now used both in academia and in practice worldwide. The hallmark of his work is a tight connection between theory and practice via a distinctly rigorous approach. Sanjiv has received numerous honors and awards throughout his professional career. Most recently he has written a series of three papers to propose ways in which innovative federal legislation could help to fix the mortgage debt crisis.

Awards, Faculty, Provost, Research

Previous Honorees

2011 - Andre Delbecq (Management)
2010 - Hersch Shefrin (Finance)
2009 - San Hernandez (Art and Art History)
2008 - Meir Statman (Finance)
2007 - Nam Ling (Computer Engineering)
2006 - Jerrold Shapiro (Counseling Psychology)
2005 - James Felt, S.J. (Philosophy)
2004 - Philip Kain (Philosophy)
2003 - Jerry Burger (Psychology)
2002 - Catherine Montfort (Modern Languages and Literature)
2001 - Alan Scheflin (Law)
2000 - Alexander Field (Economics)
1999 - Bill Duffy (Physics)
1998 - Steven Nahmias (Operations Management & Information Systems)
1997 - Cary Yang (Electrical Engineering)
1996 - Jerry Kasner (Law)
1995 - Stephen Smith (Decision & Information Sciences) 
1994 - Paul Halmos (Mathematics) & Dragoslav Siljak (Electrical Engineering)