Sustained Excellence in Scholarship

2013 Winner Michelle Burnham


Her first book, Captivity and Sentiment, is read by virtually every graduate student in her field, and has been described as a model of informed, interdisciplinary scholarship. Her latest project, The Calculus of Risk: Writing in the Revolutionary Atlantic-Pacific, has helped alter approaches and boundaries to the study of early America by attending to crucial global connections and economic features in an array of texts from the early American period. Michelle was designated the winner of the Richard Beale Davis Prize by the Modern Language Association in recognition of the best published essay in Early American Literature.

Faculty, Research, Awards, Provost

Previous Honorees

2012 - Sanjiv Das (Finance)
2011 - Andre Delbecq (Management)
2010 - Hersch Shefrin (Finance)
2009 - San Hernandez (Art and Art History)
2008 - Meir Statman (Finance)
2007 - Nam Ling (Computer Engineering)
2006 - Jerrold Shapiro (Counseling Psychology)
2005 - James Felt, S.J. (Philosophy)
2004 - Philip Kain (Philosophy)
2003 - Jerry Burger (Psychology)
2002 - Catherine Montfort (Modern Languages and Literature)
2001 - Alan Scheflin (Law)
2000 - Alexander Field (Economics)
1999 - Bill Duffy (Physics)
1998 - Steven Nahmias (Operations Management & Information Systems)
1997 - Cary Yang (Electrical Engineering)
1996 - Jerry Kasner (Law)
1995 - Stephen Smith (Decision & Information Sciences) 
1994 - Paul Halmos (Mathematics) & Dragoslav Siljak (Electrical Engineering)