Sustained Excellence in Scholarship

2015 Winners Rose Marie Beebe and Bob Senkewicz

Modern Languages and Literature & History

Rose Marie and Bob have been working together since 1996, making outstanding contributions to our understanding of Early California history and making materials available in Spanish, which was unavailable prior to the work of recovery they accomplished and their scholarship has been recognized both nationally and internationally. They have produced six scholarly books and editions, numerous translations of early California historical documents, 10 articles and book chapters, and scores of conference papers. Their most recent book, Junípero Serra: California, Indians, and the Transformation of a Missionary has been acknowledged in Rome as the definitive biography of Junípero Serra. 

Faculty, Research, Awards, Provost

Previous Honorees

2012 - Sanjiv Das (Finance)
2011 - Andre Delbecq (Management)
2010 - Hersch Shefrin (Finance)
2009 - San Hernandez (Art and Art History)
2008 - Meir Statman (Finance)
2007 - Nam Ling (Computer Engineering)
2006 - Jerrold Shapiro (Counseling Psychology)
2005 - James Felt, S.J. (Philosophy)
2004 - Philip Kain (Philosophy)
2003 - Jerry Burger (Psychology)
2002 - Catherine Montfort (Modern Languages and Literature)
2001 - Alan Scheflin (Law)
2000 - Alexander Field (Economics)
1999 - Bill Duffy (Physics)
1998 - Steven Nahmias (Operations Management & Information Systems)
1997 - Cary Yang (Electrical Engineering)
1996 - Jerry Kasner (Law)
1995 - Stephen Smith (Decision & Information Sciences) 
1994 - Paul Halmos (Mathematics) & Dragoslav Siljak (Electrical Engineering)