Skip to main content

 Mental Health First Aid

Mental Health First Aid

Mental Health is a nationally recognized training program that teaches participants how to identify, understand and respond to signs of mental health concerns and substance use. The training provides the skills needed to reach out and provide initial help and support while helping to identify other longer-term solutions if needed. 

Mental Health First Aid trainings are FREE for all faculty, staff, and students and come with a 3-year certification. 

We continue to offer training throughout spring term. Training will be offered in two, four-hour time blocks over consecutive days. Participants will need to be available for both days and for the entirety of the training which will be held in person. In addition, there is approximately two hours of pre-coursework that will need to be completed online prior to your scheduled training. Each session is limited to 30 participants. Training will be offered on:

  • Friday, May 6th 3-7pm AND Saturday, May 7th 9-1pm (for faculty and staff) in Graham Hall, 164
  • Friday, May 13th 3-7pm AND Saturday, May 14th 9-1pm (for students) in Graham Hall, 164
  • Friday, May 20th AND Monday, May 23rd Noon-4pm (for faculty, staff and students) in the Williman Room in Benson

You can register using this link: Mental Health First Aid Spring 2022 Registration

The training is generally offered over two days utilizing two four-hour blocks of time. To offer the best training experience, group sizes should be no fewer than ten and should not exceed thirty attendees. 
Questions can be directed to: SCU VP Student Life <vpstudentlife@scu.edu>
 
If you would like to request a specific training for your unit/department/student organization you can request a training here.
 

MHFA Instructors 

Facilitators Email
Alyssa Severson aseverson@scu.edu
Andrea Kwong akwong@scu.edu
Cameron Barrilleaux cbarrilleaux@scu.edu
Christelle Sabatier csabatier@scu.edu
Jane Curry jcurry@scu.edu
Jessica Everhart jeverhart@scu.edu
Karla De La Torre Mora kdelatorremora@scu.edu
Katie Steele ksteele@scu.edu
Leroy Kromm lkromm@scu.edu
Lupe Ponce-Gomez lponcegomez@scu.edu
Melina Johnson mrjohnson@scu.edu
Michelle Bezanson mbezanson@scu.edu
Natasha Zubair nzubair@scu.edu
Ryan Holleman rholleman@scu.edu
Theresa Conefrey tconefrey@scu.edu
Tiger Simpson tsimpson@scu.edu
Tim Urdan turdan@scu.edu
Verna Rodriguez vrodriguez2@scu.edu