The West Coast Biological Sciences Undergraduate Research (WCBSUR) Conference is among the oldest, intercollegiate Conferences of its kind in the nation.  The purposes of the Conference are: 1) to provide a forum for undergraduate researchers to present original data they have generated in the fields of biology and biochemistry; and 2) to foster intercollegiate interactions among students and faculty who share a commitment to undergraduate research in the biological sciences.

Conference History

Dr. Bill Eisinger with Charlotte Lewis '10

Dr. Bill Eisinger with Charlotte Lewis '10


The WCBSUR Conference was founded in 1976 by Dr. William Eisinger, Professor of Biology at Santa Clara University, and was hosted by Santa Clara every year through 1985.   Starting in 1986, other institutions began sharing hosting duties with Santa Clara University, including (in order of their involvement): Occidental College, Point Loma Nazarene University, the University of San Francisco, Loyola Marymount University, the University of California at Irvine, Colorado College, Pacific Lutheran University and Azusa Pacific University.

Over the first 41 years of its history, WCBSUR Conferences have been attended by students and faculty representing 182 institutions from 36 states (see below).

Participating Institutions (1976 through 2016):

Alabama: University of Alabama at Birmingham; Alaska: University of Alaska - Juneau; Arkansas: University of Arkansas - Fayetteville; Arizona: Arizona State University, Northern Arizona University, University of Arizona; California: Allan Hancock College, American River College, Azusa Pacific University, Biola University, California Baptist University, California Institute of Technology, California Lutheran University, California Polytechnic Institute at Pomona, California Polytechnic Institute at San Luis Obispo, Chapman University, Charles Drew Medical School, Chico State University, Claremont McKenna College, College of the Canyons, Cosumnes River College, CSU at Bakersfield, CSU at Dominguez Hills, CSU at East Bay, CSU at Fresno, CSU at Fullerton, CSU at Hayward, CSU at Humboldt, CSU at Long Beach, CSU at Los Angeles, CSU at Monterey Bay, CSU at Northridge, CSU at Sacramento, CSU at San Bernardino, CSU at Sonoma, CSU at Stanislaus, Dominican University, Fresno Pacific University, Glendale Community College, Golden West College, Harvey Mudd College, LA Mission College, La Sierra University, Loma Linda University, Loyola Marymount University, Mesa College, Mills College, Miracosta College, Miramar College, Mount St. Mary’s College, National University, Occidental College, Pacific University, Palomar College, Pepperdine University, Pitzer College, Point Loma Nazarene University, Pomona College, Riverside City College, Salk Institute for Biological Sciences, San Diego City College, Saddleback College, San Diego City College, San Diego State University, San Francisco State University, San Jose State University, Santa Clara University, Santa Monica College, Scripps College, Skyline College, Soka University of America, Southwestern College, Stanford University, St. Mary's College of California, The Master’s College, The Scripps Research Institute, UC Berkeley, UC Davis, UC Irvine, UC Los Angeles, UC Merced, UC Riverside, UC San Diego, UC Santa Barbara, UC Santa Cruz, University of La Verne, University of the Pacific, University of Redlands, University of San Diego, University of San Francisco, University of Southern California, Vanguard University, Victor Valley College, Westmont College, Whittier University; Colorado: Adams State University, Colorado College, Fort Lewis College, Regis University, University of Colorado at Boulder, University of Northern Colorado; Connecticut: Quinnipiac University; Hawaii: Brigham Young University - Hawaii, Chaminade University, University of Hawaii - Manoa; Idaho: College of Idaho, Northwest Nazarene University, University of Idaho; Illinois: Loyola University of Chicago, Northwestern University, University of Chicago, Wheaton College; Indiana: University of Notre Dame; Kansas: Wichita State University; Kentucky: Berea College, Centre College; Louisiana: Louisiana State University, Tulane University, University of Louisiana at Monroe; Massachusetts: Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Minnesota: University of Minnesota; Missouri: Truman State University, Washington University; Montana: Montana State University, University of Montana; Nebraska: Creighton University, Hastings College, Nebraska Wesleyan University; New Mexico: University of New Mexico; New York: CUNY-Hunter College, New York University, Pace University, Skidmore College; North Carolina: Duke University, Elon University; Nevada: Nevada State University, University of Nevada at Las Vegas, University of Nevada at Reno; Ohio: Case Western Reserve University, Hiram College, Ohio State University; Oklahoma: East Central University, Oklahoma City University, Oral Roberts University, Southern Nazarene University; Oregon: Linfield College, Oregon State University, Reed College, University of Oregon, University of Portland, Willamette University; Pennsylvania: Pennsylvania State University; Rhode Island: Rhode Island College; South Carolina: Clemson University; South Dakota: University of South Dakota; Tennessee: Vanderbilt University; Texas: St. Edwards' University, St. Mary's University, Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi, Trinity University, University of Texas-Austin, University of Texas-Rio Grande Valley; Utah: Brigham Young University, Dixie State University, Southern Utah University, University of Utah, Weber State University; Vermont: Middlebury College; Washington: Evergreen State College, Gonzaga University, Pacific Lutheran University, Peninsula College, Seattle Pacific University, Seattle University, University of Puget Sound, University of Washington, Washington State University, Western Washington University, Whitman College, Whitworth College; Wisconsin: Northland College, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Wyoming: University of Wyoming.

Logo by Rooks