Santa Clara University



The Department of Philosophy offers courses in all principal areas of philosophy, but emphases include ethics, social and political philosophy, and history of philosophy.


Typically, over 80 of the 4500 undergraduates at Santa Clara University are majors in philosophy, and many students with other majors have elected to minor in philosophy.



vallor_award_webThe Philosophy faculty have a reputation for some of the best teaching at SCU, and we have the awards to prove it! 2015 saw recognition of our Chair, Shannon Vallor, with the Brutocao Award for Teaching Excellence, the university's highest teaching award, as well as Lecturer Brian Buckley with the College's John B. Drahmann Advising Award for his excellent work advising SCU's pre-law and philosophy students. Read more

Rhodes Scholar


Philosophy major Noelle Lopez '09 was awarded a Rhodes Scholarship for graduate study at Oxford University. She is the second student in Santa Clara University's history—also SCU's second Philosophy major and first woman—to win this prestigious award.

Printer-friendly format