Santa Clara University

Office of the President

President's Updates


Back to Blog

2011 Student Awards

Wednesday, Jun. 8, 2011

June 8, 2011

Dear Faculty, Staff, and Students,

In the week leading up to Commencement, I want to take a moment to congratulate publicly the members of the Class of 2011 selected to receive University awards.

The Valedictorian for the Class of 2011 is Jessica Cassella, a political science major from Los Altos, CA. Jessica will offer the valedictory address on June 11. The St. Clare and Nobili medals are presented to the female and male graduate judged outstanding in academic performance, personal character, school activities, and constructive contribution to the University. On June 11, the St. Clare Medal will be awarded to Stephanie Wilson and the Nobili Medal to Quentin Orem.

The President of the University awards the Peter-Hans Kolvenbach, S.J. Award to graduating seniors who exemplify the ideals of Jesuit education especially being a "whole person of solidarity in the real world" and having the courage and faith to build a more just and humane world. For 2011, the Kolvenbach Award will be presented to Christopher Freeburg.

Yajaira Morales, Mark Vetto, Diana Bustos, and Elizabeth Hatch each will receive the Richard J. Riordan Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to service through their work with the marginalized and under-served populations outside of the University community.

Kadee Mardula, Isabel Duron, Christopher Mosier and Amanda Wong will receive the Student Life Award to recognize their contributions to improving the overall quality of life in the University community.

Please join me in congratulating and thanking these outstanding members of the Class of 2011. I also express gratitude for all who nominated deserving students for consideration.

Michael E. Engh, S.J.

Printer-friendly format