Skip to main content

Council on Inclusive Excellence

Advancing inclusive excellence or excellence through inclusion is a campus-wide goal reflected in Santa Clara's Jesuit values and traditions. As stated in the Fundamental Values of the University's Strategic Plan,"We cherish our diverse and inclusive community of students, faculty, staff, administrators, and alumni, a community that is enriched by people of different backgrounds, respectful of the dignity of all its members, enlivened by open communication, and caring and just toward others."

In September 2007, the Provost's Office established the Provost's Council on Inclusive Excellence and the Office for Multicultural Learning to advance inclusive excellence on the Santa Clara campus. A year later the Provost's Council was expanded and renamed the Council on Inclusive Excellence (its current name). The Council in both its current and original forms, as well as the Office for Multicultural Learning, are significant initiatives that build on the University's concerted efforts in this important area. An Inclusive Excellence Student Advisory Council, formed at the end of Spring Quarter 2008, serves in an advisory capacity to the Council on Inclusive Excellence.

Council on Inclusive Excellence Membership, 2017-2018 (subject to change)

Charlie Ambelang, Assistant Vice President for Human Resources

Eva Blanco Masias, Dean, Undergraduate Admissions

Heather Dumas-Dyer, Director, Residence Life

Laura Ellingson, Acting Chair, Women & Gender Studies

Eileen Elrod, Faculty Development

Belinda Guthrie, EEO and Title IX Coordinator

Christina Guzman, Director, Office for Multicultural Learning

Marina Hsieh, Faculty Director of Diversity, School of Law

Zerreen Kazi, Director, Multicultural Center

Erin Kimura-Walsh, Director, LEAD Scholars Program

Liz Quevedo, Workforce Planning Manager

Raymond Plaza, Director, Office for Diversity and Inclusion

Susan Popko, Associate Provost for International Programs

Margaret Russell, Interim Associate Provost for Doiversity and Inclusion (CHAIR)

TBD, Chair, Student Council on Inclusive Excellence

Anna Sampaio, Chair, Ethnic Studies

Lulu Santana, Director, Campus Ministry

Brett Solomon, Faculty Associate & Women of Color Network

Paul Soukup, Chair and Pedro Arrupe, S.J. Professor, Communication Department; Associate Director of Study Abroad