Skip to main content
Technology at SCU

Share Your Screen

You can make a Zoom meeting more engaging by sharing any content from your computer, including audio sources.

  1. Click the Share Screen button Share Screen on the meeting control toolbar located in your meeting controls.
  2. Select one of these screen share options:
    1. Basic: Share your entire desktop, specific application window, whiteboard, or iPhone/iPad screen.
      Zoom window with share screen options
    2. Advanced
      1. Portion of Screen: Share a portion of your screen represented by a green border. 
        Zoom select portion of screen
      2. Music or Computer Sound Only: Only share your computer's audio (your selected speaker in your audio settings).
        Zoom share audio only
      3. Content from 2nd Camera: Share a secondary camera connected to your computer; for example, a document camera or the integrated camera on your laptop.
        Zoom share second camera
    3. Files: Share a file from a third-party sharing service like Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive. Follow the on-screen prompts to sign in to the third-party service and grant Zoom access.
      Note: Alternatively, you can open the file in a web browser then share the browser window. For example, to share a Google doc, open the doc in Chrome, then share the Chrome window. The end result is the same as using the sharing options in the Files tab.
  3. (Optional) Enable these features:

                    How to share computer sound in Zoom

    1. Check Share Computer Sound: If you check this option, any sound played by your computer will be shared in the meeting.
    2. Check Optimize for full screen video clip: Check this if you will be sharing a video clip in full screen mode. Do not check this otherwise, as it may cause the shared screen to be blurry.

4. Click Share. 

    Zoom share button for share screen

    1. Zoom will automatically switch to full screen to optimize the shared screen view. To exit full-screen, click Exit Full Screen in the top-right corner or press the Esc key. 
    2. To disable automatic full screen when viewing a shared screen, disable this option in your desktop client settings: Enter full screen automatically when a participant shares screen.