Skip to main content
Department ofChemistry and Biochemistry


Faculty Grants and Awards 2018

The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry was able to secure significant funding this year to further facilitate our pursuit of improving our various programs and the student experience for our student-centered department. We appreciate the increase in funding that the Lynch Fund provided this year. This fund helps greatly with the resources it provides our student researchers.

Listed below, in alphabetical order, are a few of the recently funded, ongoing projects faculty are pursuing.

  • Paul Abbyad, “Label-Free Sorting Based on Single-Cell Metabolism”, National Science Foundation CAREER Award, 2018-2023.

  • Amelia Fuller, “New Functions of Biomimetic Oligoamides as Sensors for Water Contaminants”, Camille & Henry Dreyfus Foundation, Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, 2017-2022.

  • Grace Stokes, “Thermodynamic Studies of Peptoid-Lipid
    Interactions”, Cottrell Scholar Award, Agency: Research Corporation for Scientific Advancement.

  • Eric Tillman, “Stereoregular Vinyl Polymers Prepared by Low Temperature Controlled Radical Polymerization”, UR grant, 2016-2019.

  • Korin Wheeler, "Peptide Probes of Nanomaterial Protein Corona Dynamics and Biological Response”, National Institutes of Health, 2016-2019.

  • Korin Wheeler was awarded $40,000 from ETH Zurich (2017-2018 academic year). These funds supported her role as a guest professor in the Institute of Biogeochemistry and Pollutant Dynamics, where she was hosted by environmental chemistry professor Kristopher McNeill.