Skip to main content


The purpose of the Faculty Senate “is to develop and to express the opinion of the faculty on academic and professional matters, to facilitate participation of the faculty in forming the policies of the University, and to make the collective experience and knowledge of the faculty available to the President” (Faculty Handbook). All regular members of the SCU faculty are members of the Faculty Senate.

Much of the business of the Senate is conducted by the Faculty Senate Council, the representative body of the full Senate, which meets monthly during the academic year. The Faculty Senate Council consists of representatives from each academic department, four at-large representatives, as well as the Faculty Senate President, President-Elect, and Past-President.

For more details, see the FAQ.

Upcoming Meetings