Skip to main content


Marilyn J. Perkins Claassen
Memorial Scholarship Program                        

The Marilyn J. Perkins Claassen Memorial Scholarship Program is to be awarded each year to two members of the stock plan community who wish to pursue the Certified Equity Professional (CEP) designation through the Santa Clara University CEP Institute (CEPI). 

Image of Marlyn Perkins

The original Marilyn J. Perkins Claassen Scholarship was funded by the Certified Equity Professional Institute.  From 2009 - 2011, OptionEase sponsored a second scholarship.  In 2012, the CEPI welcomed OPTRACK as a sponsor to further expand the program.

In 2016, Optrack was acquired by Computershare. We are pleased to have the continued support of the Marilyn J. Perkins Claasen Memorial Scholarship, now sponsored by Computershare.

The successful applicant will be provided with a full scholarship for all three levels, excluding exam materials. The recipient will be required to take all three exams within five (5) test cycles; the scholarship will expire at the end of five test cycles. If a scholarship recipient has already completed one or more levels of the CEP program, the scholarship will cover the costs of the remaining levels, excluding materials, to be completed within four (4) test cycles.

Marilyn had faith in me and my abilities and invited me to work for her when she first started Perkins Shareholder Services back when it was in a shared loft-type office in Palo Alto. She sent me to clients to teach them software, to work with new stock administrators, and on special projects. I owe the success of my career as an independent equity compensation consultant to Marilyn and the opportunity she gave me in 1995. - Joan Matlack, CEP
2016 Scholarship Recipients
Chelle Tolon 2017 Marilyn J. Perkins Claassen Memorial Scholarship Recipient

 Rochelle Tolon - Scholarship sponsored by the Certified Equity Professional Institute







Lynn Cusick  2016 Marilyn J. Perkins Claassen Memorial Scholarship Recipient

Lynn Cusick - Scholarship sponsored by Computershare







Eligibility Criteria

Applicants can come from any country and must have at least 2 years experience working in the equity compensation field. Once a scholarship award recipient has successfully earned the CEP designation, the recipient will be expected to be an active participant in the CEP Institute by volunteering to assist in the test preparation activities. It is expected that recipients will be involved in the stock plan community by volunteering with their local NASPP and/or GEO chapters and represent the CEPI at industry events. The recipients will be expected to promote the CEP designation throughout their career in the stock plan industry.


The successful applicant will demonstrate many of the same qualities that Marilyn demonstrated such as: commitment to improving the stock plan profession, public service, integrity, enthusiasm, energetic approach, and passion for the importance of obtaining the CEP designation. The selection committee includes at least one professional who knew Marilyn, as well as a representative from Santa Clara University. The selection committee and process is to be managed by the CEPI Advisory Board.


To be considered for a scholarship, the application must be submitted before the deadline and include the following:

  1. Applicant information - complete the online survey.
  2. Current copy of your resume
  3. 250-400 word summary statement of your long-term professional goals relevant to the equity compensation field and why obtaining the CEP designation is important to you
  4. A letter of recommendation from an individual who is qualified to evaluate your qualifications
  5. If applying for both scholarships: a brief summary (maximum 200 words) of your accounting background including education, work experience, and any other relevant information


A completed application should be submitted to CEPI@SCU.EDU by August 15th or the following Monday, if the 15th falls on a weekend. All application information must be provided in English. The Marilyn J. Perkins Claassen Memorial Scholarship will be awarded each summer, beginning in 2007, with the recipient to be notified by September 1 in order to begin preparing for the November exam.



About Computershare

Computershare ( is a global market leader in transfer agency, employee equity plans, proxy solicitation, stakeholder communications, and other diversified financial and governance services. Many of the world’s leading organizations use Computershare’s services to help maximize the value of relationships with their investors, employees, creditors, members and customers.