Skip to main content
Department ofCommunication


Honors and Awards

The Communication Department honors the many achievements of students who excelled during challenging times.

The Communication Department honors the many achievements of students who excelled during challenging times.

Communication Department Prize Award

The Communication Department Prize is an annual award for the graduating senior who best meets the goals of the department based on academic achievement, collaboration with students and faculty, and a commitment to ethical communication. Alumni and friends of the department established the prize in 1986.

Ciara Moezidis


The Justin T. McCarthy Awards

This award is given in memory of Justin T. McCarthy to the senior students who have excelled in oratory and developed the ability to express themselves in a given medium.

Sahale Greenwood — Journalism
Kyle De La Fuente — Film
Ann Codiga — Voice


The Chair's Award

Awarded to the graduating senior who embodies the essential spirit of the Communication Department with her courage, intellect and creativity.

Jessica Hilger


Edward Shipsey, S.J. Journalism Prize

The prize was established in 1984 by Alfred Orr Kelly in honor of Edward J. Shipsey, S.J. It recognizes outstanding performance by a student who is committed to a career in journalism.

Samantha Stahl


Handlery Prize

Established in 1947 by Rose Handlery in memory of her son, Raymond Handlery '34, this prize is awarded each year to the graduating senior who has contributed most to the success of student publications at the University.

Lacey Yahnke


Communication Honors Society

Class of 2021 Members of Lambda Pi Eta

Jane Margaret Ackels
Daniela Balaguera
Carloline Joan Banker
Nikolas Donald Baumbach
Andrew Italo Cannizzaro
Richard Imre Cholnoky
Kyle Anthony de la Fuente
Lillian Mia Rosalind Evans
Elizabeth Lucille Fachetti
Christina Marie Fattore
Madeline Elizabeth Gile
Natalie Ann Olili Granito
Alyse Danielle Greenbaum
Sahale Greenwood
Katya Ludmila Keklikian
Anne Elizabeth Lavelle
Emma Frederieka Ligtenberg
Celia Beth Martinez
Natasha P. Matis
Arianna Michele Mireles-Torrez
Makenna Mitchell
Ciara Moezidis
Anne Alisa Pera
Marina Josette Plum
Radhika Sarkar
Sophie Rinka Scher
Madeline Cook Schroeder
Alexis Marie Standridge
Sarah Jane Steindl
Kristina Louise Stoia
Margaret Elizabeth Stoll
Caitlin Heeyoung Suh
Alexander Christian Varni
Shelby L. White