Skip to main content

Department ofPolitical Science

About Us

Political Science Faculty

The Department of Political Science is politics and a great deal more. As Political Scientists we combine theory and practice in the active study of politics in the United State and other countries, international relations, and the different theories that explain the meaning of political life. It is the study of power, conflict, war, race, gender, environmental policy, diplomacy, culture, leadership, justice, law, reform, and revolution. The Department's students, faculty, and staff take pride in studying and engaging in the local and global community in the Jesuit tradition of academic excellence and educated solidarity.

In completing the Political Science major, students choose among a wide selection of courses in five fields—U.S. politics, comparative politics, international relations, political philosophy, and quantitative methods. The department also offers its majors the option of Emphases in Pre-Law, Public Sector Studies, and International Relations. Political Science is an excellent companion major or minor for Economics, History, Philosophy, Environmental Studies, Ethnic Studies, Women's and Gender Studies and other disciplines. Students can earn credit for the major through hands-on experience in local experiential learning internships in Washington, D.C., and study abroad around the globe. Graduates enjoy careers in law, government, teaching, the media, public service non-governmental organizations, law enforcement, the armed forces and the private sector. The Political Science Students Association and the Political Science Honors Program enable strong student participation in the intellectual and social life of the department.