Skip to main content
Department ofClassics

Student Awards

Awards for Scholarship

The Classics Department gives three awards to students at its annual Eta Sigma Phi initiation ceremony.

Established in 1997 in memory of Walter J. Kropp, S.J., by the faculty of the Department of  Classics, this award is given to the senior classics major who has attained the highest average in classics courses. Winners:

Established in 1997, this prize is given to the Classics major or minor who writes the best single essay or research paper on a Classical topic, as determined by the Classics Department. This award is not given every year. Among recent winners are:

The Augusta Prize in Greek Studies, established in honor of Helen Moritz, Associate Professor Emerita of Classics, is given to the most promising student of ancient Greek who plans to continue study of the language beyond the first year. Winner: