Skip to main content

Online Education Information for Students

State Authorization

Institutions that wish to offer online or distance learning programs outside of their home states must seek “authorization” to operate from regulatory bodies in other states. The procedures and processes involved in this regulatory compliance for online or distance-learning programs are collectively known as state authorization.


Santa Clara University is in a continuous process to comply with regulations pursuant to state authorization, including applying for and maintaining approval or exemption status for our online programs in other states.


Santa Clara is approved and welcomes application for enrollment into online programs from residents in the following states:


Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, and West Virginia. 


Unfortunately, Santa Clara is not authorized to provide online education to students who reside in states that are not listed above. Similarly, Santa Clara cannot offer federal financial for online programs to students who reside in unauthorized states. If you are from a state that is not authorized, please contact an admissions advisor at so that we can provide information on the expected timeline to authorization in your state.


Refund Policies

Santa Clara University’s refund policies can be found at the following site:


Complaint Resolution and State Contact Information

The U.S. Department of Education requires that Santa Clara provide current and prospective students with contact information for filing complaints with relevant agencies. Additional information about the complaint process can be found at: