Skip to main content

Department ofArt and Art History


Congratulations Class of 2020

A virtual celebration for the Class of 2020 via Zoom.

Today, the Department of Art and Art History celebrated its traditional "grad brunch" via Zoom. Graduating seniors and their families dialed in to watch two videos put together by our faculty; one showcasing each senior, and one with faculty and staff sharing their advice. The class of 2020 is, as Chair Andrea Pappas put it,

"You are The Class -- special to the Department because you are the first cohort to start at SCU in the new Edward M. Dowd Art & Art History Building, and even more special to us because of your fortitude and flexibility in the face of recent challenges. You have persisted. Persistence in the face of adversity has more to offer than a way to weather changes, it is how you make changes. You came to SCU to get an education aimed at making the world a better place: persistence, vision, creativity, compassion, and mindfulness is how you do it. Know that you carry the banner of your own destiny (no pressure!). Know that we stand in awe of you. You have already shown that you have what it takes to handle whatever comes your way; not just in this election year, but for the rest of your life."


 gradbrunch1 gradbrunch2 gradbrunch3 gradbrunch4

This was followed by a series of "zoom rooms" that allowed graduates and their guests to chat informally with the members of the faculty and staff. We missed the delicious brunch that normally accompanies this celebration, but we are grateful that we were able to spend time with our very special students and that we had a chance to express our deep gratitude to the parents, families, and those who have supported our students in their time at SCU.

We are pleased to congratulate the art history and studio art graduates of Class of 2020.

Art History Majors: Virginia Apperson, Cecilia Avelar, Antonia Deleon, Aley Even, Rhiannon Janeschild, Gwyneth Muscott, Nick Spragg, Molly Weinstock, Adele Whitmyer

Studio Art Majors: Gaby Ahlstrom, Annie Albers, Madeline Bragg, Annie Chambers, Nikky Dully, Vivian Gao, Maggie Ireland, Rhiannon Janeschild, Kalina Karbowski, Maddie Mott, Bella Rodriguez, Judith Rodriguez, Chloe Scheuch, Hayley Seeno, Mayra Sierra-Rivera, Hai-Yen Tans, Brooklyn Wanzenberg