Department ofReligious Studies


Student Awards 2016

The University and the various undergraduate colleges award several prizes and honors each year for exceptional research and service by Santa Clara University students. We would like to honor and acknowledge those religious studies majors and minors who have earned the high regard of the department and the University.

2016 recipients include:

Gus Hardy

Gus Hardy

Religious Studies Prize: Gus Hardy

Theodore J. Mackin Senior Paper Award: Bev Olivo

Tennant C. Wright, SJ Award for Outstanding RS Minor: Katherine Enos and Sophia Lyon

Catherine Bell Award: Julie Dinh

Joseph Grassi Social Justice Award: Jenna Lipman

New Theta Alpha Kappa Honor Society Members:

Kathryn Burke

Meghan Carlsen

Brittany Cheung

Julie Dinh

Lucille Duran

Katherine Enos

Taylor Ferdinandsen

Kelsey Figone

Jessica Frydenberg

Jennifer Gleitsmann

London Knight

Nicole Nasser

Deanna Smith


Dr. David Gray and Jenna Lipman

Dr. David Gray and Jenna Lipman

Gus Hardy, who will graduate with a double major in Religious Studies and Political Science and a minor in Catholic Studies has been chosen as Valedictorian for the SCU Class of 2016. This honor is conferred annually on a graduating senior selected for outstanding academic achievement.

Jenna Lipman, RS Minor, will receive the 2016 Alumni Association Board of Director’s Service Award. It provides financial support to seniors who are leaving SCU and going directly into a service program or project.

Contact Us

David Gray, Department Chair

Vicky Gonzalez, Office Manager


Kenna Hall, 3rd Floor