To keep your site in good order and improve site performance, you'll want to de-activate obsolete content, archive static pages, and set aside content to be purged from the system.
As the new web site continues to grow, we will need to pay attention to site maintenance to help reduce clutter from obsolete content and maintain good performance by archiving static pages. Here are the main areas to look at regularly when working in T4. The terms "delete", "inactive", "archive", and "purge" could be open to interpretation - here's what they mean in the context of TerminalFour.
- Delete - You will see a Delete option for content and for sections. When you mark something as deleted, that sets its status to "inactive". If the content or section had previously been published to the www.scu.edu site, deleting it will cause it to be removed from the www servers following the next scheduled full-site publish process. More »
- Inactive - When you delete something, it sets the content or section status to Inactive. Anything in an inactive state will not be published to the www site, and will be deleted from www if previously published. Content in an inactive state will remain in T4 until it is purged. Until it is purged, you can re-activate content by editing it, and sections can be changed from inactive to pending or approved in the section editing form. More »
- Purge - The purge process will remove any sections or content in an inactive state from the T4 database. Once the content is purged, it cannot be recovered. The purge process is run manually, with safeguards in place to avoid purging content recently set to an inactive state. More »
- Archive - Setting a section's status to Archive will keep it from being included in the regularly scheduled full-site publish process. Any child sections of an archived section will also be considered archived. If a section or branch of your site is not frequently updated (for example, a policy manual or past issues of newsletters), archiving the branch helps to improve the processing time of the full-site publish, since the archived sections aren't examined for changes before the publish runs. We do run one full-site publish process every day that includes archived sections, and you can always manually publish a section or branch that's set to be archived if needed. More »
Refer to the Status Icon chart for guidance on how to interpret T4's status indicators.