Skip to main content


Santa Clara’s top administrators lead by example.

They embody and celebrate our values, honor our history and traditions, and engage with the campus community to shape a vision for SCU’s future.

University leadership is comprised of the Board of Trustees, Chancellor, and the President's Cabinet. The Cabinet serves as an advisory board to the President on matters of strategic importance and on issues as requested by the President.

University President

Michael E. Engh, S.J., is Santa Clara University's 28th president. He serves as the chief executive officer with overall responsibility for its operational affairs. Since arriving at Santa Clara, Fr. Engh has led the University in defining the a vision and setting the course for the future with a bold new plan, Santa Clara 2020.






University Administrators

  • William J.  Rewak, S.J.

    William J. Rewak, S.J.

    Chancellor Emeritus

    Former SCU president William J. Rewak, S.J., served as chancellor and assisted President Michael Engh, S.J., in vital areas such as civic engagement, fundraising, community outreach, and ceremonial events.

  • Dennis C.  Jacobs

    Dennis C. Jacobs

    Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

    Dr. Jacobs is the Chief Academic Officer at Santa Clara and a professor of chemistry. He provides leadership and management for all aspects of academics, student life, information services, and athletics. 

  • Renee Baumgartner

    Renee Baumgartner

    Athletics Director

    Renee Baumgartner, Ph.D., is the Director of Athletics. Reporting directly to the President, Dr. Baumgartner oversees the administration of all Division I sports at Santa Clara. 

  • Michael Crowley

    Michael Crowley

    Vice President for Finance and Administration

    Michael Crowley is vice president for finance and administration, reporting directly to the president. He is the senior officer responsible for supporting the core activities of the University.

  • James C. Lyons

    James C. Lyons

    Vice President for University Relations

    Jim Lyons leads the University’s fundraising, government relations, alumni relations, and marketing and communications activities. 

  • Molly A.  McDonald

    Molly A. McDonald

    Chief of Staff

    Molly McDonald serves as chief of staff to President Michael E. Engh, S.J. and advises the president on University matters as well as external matters. 

  • John M. Ottoboni

    John M. Ottoboni

    General Counsel

    Reporting to the President, John Ottoboni provides legal counsel, guidance and policy analysis to the University, its President and Board of Trustees, senior administrative and academic officers, and other constituent units.

  • Mike B.  Sexton

    Mike B. Sexton

    Vice President for Enrollment Management

    Mike Sexton has overall responsibility for Undergraduate Admission, University Financial Aid Services, and the Enrollment Services Center (OneStop).