Top Stories

Accounting Awards Presented at Annual Banquet

This year's accounting department scholarships and awards were presented to students and alumni at the annual banquet held in May.

On May 19, 2016 the Department of Accounting hosted their 16th Annual Accounting Awards Banquet to celebrate and honor the work of their current students. Faculty, staff, students, advisory board members, alumni, and representatives from various accounting firms gathered at the Locatelli Center, located on SCU's campus, where 29 scholarships were presented to rising junior and senior accounting students. Scholarship benefactors and recipients of the awards, including the O. Robert Anderson Accounting Award, the Alumni of the Year Award, the California Society of CPAs Award, the Outstanding Accounting and Information Systems Student Award, and the Faculty of the Year Award, were also honored. Between all of the scholarships, over $70,000 was awarded to accounting students. Find photos of the event here.

Congratulations to all who were recognized at this annual event. Your hard work and dedication is valued and appreciated.


2016 Scholarship Recipients:

Department Sophomore Scholarships*

Christopher Chang
Simone Corkett
Grace Momota
Shyla Suri

Department Junior Scholarships*

Sophia Avila
Justin Bautista
Monica Lam
Nina Leff

Armanino Scholarship
Michelle Wu

BDO Scholarship
Ryan Pham

Burr Pilger & Mayer Scholarship
Leonie Phoa

California Society of CPA's Scholarship
Ernest Yip

Charles F. Louie Scholarship
Kyle Gionet
Walter Yu

Deloitte Leadership Scholarship
Bryan Chow

EY Accounting & Information Systems Scholarship
Matthew Bettencourt

EY Diversity Scholarship
Andrew Furtado

Frank, Rimerman + Co. LLP Scholarship
Anqi Xu

Grant Thornton Scholarship
Langzun Li

James F. Sepe Endowed Accounting Scholarship
Arun Coumar

KPMG Community Service Scholarship
Taylor Escobar

Lautze & Lautze Scholarship
Andrew Becker
Kylie Chun

Moss Adams LLP Scholarship
Kyle Boyce
Connie Chang

Paul Locatelli, S.J. Memorial Scholarship
Taylor Beatty

PwC Leadership Scholarship
Andrew Wright

RSM Scholarship
Clare Arbios

Sensiba San Filippo LLP Scholarship
Alex Arnold

 *Sponsored by the Big Four – PricewaterhouseCoopers, Deloitte, EY, KPMG


2016 Award Recipients:

O. Robert Anderson Award

Nicholas Casaccia
Tiffany Iskandar

Alumnus of the Year Award

Howard Loomis
Class of 1980

Outstanding Accounting &
Information Systems Award

Ernest Yip

Thomas Maier Memorial Award for
Outstanding Academic Achievement

Thomas Deal

Faculty of the Year

Michael Calegari




ACTG, News, News & Events Home, Awards Home, 2016, LSB