Top Stories

Celebrating Faculty

Business school faculty are recognized for their impact and contributions to the University community.

Congratulations to business school faculty who were recognized this year for their contributions to the Leavey School of Business community and the University as a whole.

Faculty Achieving Tenure

We had five faculty members who achieved tenure and were promoted to the rank of associate professor:

  • Ram Bala (OMIS)
  • John Ifcher (ECON)
  • Haibing Lu (OMIS)
  • Desmond Lo (MKTG)
  • David Zimbra (OMIS)

“These faculty have made remarkable contributions to their students, their disciplines and the University. I extend my thanks to [them] for their commitment to teaching, student learning, and scholarly research,” said SCU President, Fr. Michael Engh, in a statement to the University community.

Extraordinary Faculty Awards

The following faculty achieved awards in scholarship, teaching and service over the course of the academic year:

  • Sanjiv Das (FNCE)
  • John Ifcher (ECON)
  • Yongtae Kim (ACTG)
  • Tammy Madsen (MGMT)
  • Meir Statman (FNCE)
  • Andy Tsay (OMIS)
  • Jennifer Woolley (MGMT)

Outstanding Scholarship Awards

Noted for their scholarly achievements in the past year were:

Yasin Ceran (OMIS), Xiaojing Dong (MKTG), Alex Field (ECON), Christian Helmers (ECON), Hoje Jo (FNCE), Kirthi Kalyanam (MKTG), Sam Lee (FNCE), Tao Li (OMIS), Desmond Lo (MKTG), Haibing Lu (OMIS), Serguei Maliar (ECON), Shelby McIntyre (MKTG), Kris Mitchener , ECON), Susan Parker (ACTG), Kumar Sarangee (MKTG), Michael Schermann (OMIS), Hersh Shefrin (FNCE), Manuel Velasquez (MGMT).

Outstanding Teaching Awards

Commended for their teaching as measured by student evaluations over the course of the year were:

Narendra Agrawal (OMIS), James Airola (ECON), Ram Bala (OMIS), Tanya Bunger (MGMT), Gangshu Cai (OMIS), Ye Cai (FNCE), Michael Calegari (ACTG), George Chacko (FNCE), Jim Hall (MGMT), Michael Kevane (ECON), Seoyoung Kim (FNCE), Wendy Ku (FNCE), Haidan Li (ACTG), Siqi Li (ACTG), Tao Li (OMIS), Chris Lipp (MKTG), Desmond Lo (MKTG), Haibing Lu (OMIS), Nydia MacGregor (MGMT), Darrel Mank (MGMT), Chris Paisley (ACTG), Carrie Pan (FNCE), Greg Perelman (FNCE), Sandy Piderit (MGMT), Barry Posner (MGMT), Atulya Sarin (FNCE), Michael Schermann (OMIS), Steve Smith (OMIS), Bill Sundstrom (ECON), , Andy Tsay (OMIS), Neal Ushman (ACTG), Steve Wade (FNCE), David Zimbra (OMIS).

Outstanding Service Awards

For contributions to their departments, the school, University and profession, the following faculty are being recognized:

Narendra Agrawal (OMIS), Gregory Baker (MGMT), Ram Bala (OMIS), Gangshu Cai (OMIS), Michael Calegari (ACTG), George Chacko (FNCE), Xiaojing Dong (MKTG), Deirdre Frontczak (MKTG), Manoochehr Ghiassi (OMIS), Kirthi Kalyanam (MKTG), Linda Kamas (ECON), Michael Kevane (ECON), Shelby McIntyre (MKTG), Juan Montermoso (MKTG), Susan Parker (ACTG), Sandy Piderit (MGMT), Helen Popper (ECON), Barry Posner (MGMT), Hersh Shefrin (FNCE), William Sundstrom (ECON), Manuel Velasquez (MGMT), David Zimbra (OMIS).

Leavey Grants

These grants are made possible by donations from Cheryl Breetwor & Sally and Gerald DeNardo. Thank you to the review committee of Siqi Li, Desmond Lo & Haibing Lu.

Naren Agrawal (OMIS), Shireen Al Azzawi (ECON), Alex Field (ECON), Adina Ardelean (ECON), Ye Cai (FNCE), Gangshu Cai (OMIS), Michael Calegari (ACTG), Yasin Ceran (OMIS), Sanjiv Das (FNCE), Xiaojing Dong (MKTG), Robert Eberhart (MGMT), Christian Helmers (ECON), Hoje Jo (FNCE), Yongtae Kim (ACTG), Seoyoung Kim (FNCE), Siqi Li (ACTG), Tao Li (OMIS), Desmond Lo (MKTG), Haibing Lu (OMIS), Tammy Madsen (MGMT), Serguei Maliar (ECON), Kris Mitchner (ECON), Sami Najafi (OMIS), Thuy Lan Nguyen (ECON), Carrie Pan (FNCE), Goncalo Pina (ECON), Jo-Ellen Pozner (MGMT), Kumar Sarangee (MKTG), Savannah Shi (MKTG), Dongsoo Shin (ECON), Andy Tsay (OMIS), Jennifer Woolley (MGMT), Yuchi Zhang (MKTG).

ACE Outstanding Faculty Award Winners

Students in the Accelerated Cooperative Leadership (ACE) program nominated faculty members who have both challenged and supported their learning at SCU during the last four years. The following faculty made a significant impact on this year’s graduating ACE class:

  • Ye Cai (FNCE)
  • Chris Paisley (ACTG)
  • Kumar Sarangee (MKTG)
  • Theresa Strickland (MGMT)



LSB, News & Events Home, LSB Faculty, Top Home,

Faculty members Gangshu Cai (OMIS), Yuchi Zhang (Marketing), and Long Le (Management) with Dean Caryn Beck-Dudley at the faculty awards celebration on June 6, 2017.