Skip to main content

Top Stories

Staff Appreciation Awards

Four Leavey School of Business staff were honored during the Staff Appreciation Luncheon on May 1 with annual awards lauding their service to business school students, their colleagues, and the organization.

Student Experience Award

The Student Experience Award is presented to the person whose efforts have enhanced the learning experience for our students at any level, undergraduate, graduate, or executive, and went toTrish Kalbas-Schmidt of the Graduate Career Management office.

In her nominations, Trish was described as a hard worker who emulates the “Santa Clara Way.”  She is a great example to students as they prepare to join the working world and pursue their dreams.Trish excels at 1:1 career advising with students –  giving both advice, and a helping hand, to students transitioning from school to the  working world.  She is collaborative, friendly, and earnest in addition to being highly  effective at helping our students start their careers.

Innovation Award

The Innovation Award is presented to the individual who has  initiated and developed successful innovations in the way we pursue the educational  mission of the University and of the Leavey School of Business, and the prize was given to two staff members this year, Erika French-Arnold (Food & Agribusiness) and Marianne Farag (Economics).

Erika French-Arnold has organized and created a variety of programs designed to  engage students, faculty, the business community and our alumni.  The innovative ways  in which she has marketed and planned these events has offered new opportunities for  these groups to learn about food industry issues and exchange knowledge and ideas.   She has raised the profile of the FAI and has leveraged resources so that the FAI can  more effectively pursue its mission.   

Marianne Farag has worked hard to develop innovative ways to help the majors in the  economics department.  She designed a survey for graduating seniors that is now being  used annually to improve service and create a more rewarding learning experience for  the students. She has also developed new ways to engage the department’s alumni in  an effort to improve career opportunities for our students, and build connections with the  broader business community.   

Collaboration Award

The Collaboration Award is presented to the staff member who  exemplifies the spirit of working together in cooperative pursuit of the mission of the  University and of the Leavey School of Business, and was presented to Rachaella Giannotta (Dean's Office).

Rachaella Giannotta's  teamwork skills, smile, and “Keep Calm and Carry On” attitude are quickly  becoming legendary in the Leavey School of Business. She cheerfully works with  Business School faculty, staff, students and alumni with equal effectiveness and  efficiency. The enormous range of her duties requires her to collaborate with a diverse  set of stakeholders in an environment where priorities change daily and where conflicts  are almost guaranteed.  If you want to make sure it happens, on time, under budget,  with kindness and good cheer – call Rachaella.