Skip to main content
Leavey School of Business Santa Clara University
Department ofAccounting

News Stories

17th Annual Accounting Awards Banquet

On May 26, 2017 the department presented awards and scholarships to accounting and accounting information systems students.

On May 26, 2017 the Department of Accounting hosted their 17th Annual Accounting Awards Banquet to celebrate and honor the achievements of our accounting and A&IS majors. Faculty, staff, students, advisory board members, alumni, representatives from various accounting firms, and family members and guests gathered at the Locatelli Center for a reception, dinner and awards ceremony. The Department presented 27 merit-based scholarships to sophomore and junior accounting students, four awards to junior and senior accounting students for academic excellence, and additional awards for professorial excellence and alumnus accomplishments. This year’s graduating seniors selected Dr Neal Ushman as professor of the year, while the advisory board and faculty honored Greg Vlahos (SCU class of 1988) as alum of the year. Greg is a partner at PwC who serves as their Bay Area Life Science Sector Leader.

The scholarships were funded by generous donations from a variety of firms, alums, and other supporters. The ceremony was moderated by Dr Michael Calegari, who introduced each of the students. Find photos of the event here.

We extend our congratulations to all students recognized at this annual event and our heartfelt thanks to the Silicon Valley professionals who supported the scholarships. We also extend our thanks to all parents and family members who traveled from near and far to celebrate the evening with their sons and daughters.


2017 Scholarship Recipients:

Department Sophomore Scholarships*

Annie Pan

Madison Kingston

Margaret Curley

Shyla Suri

Department Junior Scholarships*

Kalyn Ichinstsubo

Matilde Saucedo

Matthew Robinson

Matthew Sipowicz

Armanino Scholarship

Isabella Zhang

BDO Scholarship

Bryan Chow


Mike Alexander Gomez

California Society of CPA’s Scholarship

Thomas Deal

Charles F. Louie Scholarship

Matthew Bettencourt

Natalie Ramirez

Deloitte Leadership Scholarship

Jordan Ford

EY Diversity Scholarship

Mindy Luong

EY Leadership Scholarship

Gary Schlatter

Frank Rimerman + Co. LLP Scholarship

Katie Wickerstrom

Grant Thornton Scholarship

Michelle Wu

James F. Sepe Endowed Accounting Scholarship

Connie Chang

KPMG Community Service Scholarship

Carley Robertson

Lautze & Lautze Scholarship

Grace Momota

Valdemar Anderson

Moss Adams LLP Scholarship

Benjamin Hy

Riley Moran

Paul Locatelli, S.J. Memorial Scholarship

Koko Hanson-Dobbs

PwC Leadership Scholarship

Kyle Boyce

Sensiba San Filippo LLP Scholarship

Casey Von Der Linn


 *Sponsored by the Big Four – PricewaterhouseCoopers, Deloitte, EY, KPMG

2017 Award Recipients:


O. Robert Anderson Award

Arun Coumar

Alumnus of the Year Award

Greg Vlahos

Class of 1989 

Outstanding Accounting & Information Systems Award

Walter Yu

Thomas Maier Memorial Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement

Callister Carson

Faculty of the Year

Neal Ushman



Awards, Business, Diversity, Students